Facelift Alfa 147 Review

Normal_aspirated

Was wondering that the new facelift Alfa 147 series has been out for sometime already.

Anyway, checkout the website:

http://www.wheels24.co.za/Wheels24/NewMode...1741781,00.html

dated 22/07/2004 08:22AM.

The facelifted Alfa Romeo 147 range is now available in South Africa, featuring new Giugiaro styling, an updated interior and revised chassis dynamics.

As before the 147 is available as a three and five-door with two petrol and two diesel engines (the new MultiJet being the big news) to choose from.

The updated 147 retains the original's well-proportioned, muscular lines, but the bonnet, front wings and front bumper are all new.

Furthermore the distinctive shield-type grille is now larger and positioned lower and further forward.

The most dramatic change, however, has been applied to the headlights - they now sweep back to follow the lines of the V-shaped bonnet.

At the rear designers have reworked the tailgate and extended the taillights in towards the centre line of the car.

Engines

Petrol engines in 88 kW 1.6 litre, and 110 kW 2.0 litre Twin Spark guise were joined in 2004 by the 85 kW 1.9 litre JTD common rail turbodiesel engine.

1.6 T. Spark

1 599 cc

4-cylinder

88 kW @ 6 200 r/min

146 Nm @ 4 200 r/min

0-100 km/h: 10.6 seconds

Top speed: 196 km/h

2.0 T. Spark

1 970 cc

4-cylinder

110 kW @ 6 300 r/min

181 Nm @ 3 800 r/min

0-100 km/h: 9.3 seconds

Top speed: 208 km/h

1.9 JTD UniJet

1 910 cc

4-cylinder

85 kW @ 4 000 r/min

275 Nm @ 2 000 r/min

0-100 km/h: 9.9 seconds

Top speed: 191 km/h

1.9 JTD MultiJet

1 910 cc

4-cylinder

110 kW @ 4 000 r/min

305 Nm @ 2 000 r/min

0-100 km/h: 8.8 seconds

Top speed: 208 km/h

The proven arrangement of double wishbones at the front and MacPherson struts at the rear continues, but a series of revisions mean the New 147's ride comfort has been enhanced.

The front shock absorber pistons are now longer and housed in Teflon guides, and this has been introduced in conjunction with minor changes to suspension design, both front and rear.

Equipment

The 2005 147 range is comprehensively equipped, with all models featuring:

Six airbags - front, side and window bags

Climate control (manual on Progression models and dual-zone on Distinctive versions)

Power steering

Load limiters and pretensioners for the front seatbelts

A steering wheel adjustable for height and reach

Height-adjustable driver's seat

Electric front windows and door mirrors (heated)

Steering wheel mounted audio controls,

Trip computer

Remote control central locking

60:40 split-folding rear seat

Leather-trimmed steering wheel and gear knob

Adjustable front armrest with storage compartment

All models come standard with an RDS radio/CD player and six speakers, while Distinctive models get even more kit in the form of a CD changer, front fog lamps, power rear windows, cruise control and leather upholstery. Alloy wheels are standard across the range - 15-inch in the case of Progression models and 16-inch for the Distinctive models.

post-3-1124029794_thumb.jpg

Sad to say, the only 1.6 we have available here is the 88kw (105Hp) ones... And the equipment list is much much lesser than the pre-facelift ones... To cut down the OMV?

I fully agree to cut down the equipment list, but the 105hp engine? [hur] I am even not satisfied with the 120hp ones...

at least is still better than any Japs 1.6L one which is 88KW (105hp) at the flywheel and not at the wheels as most conti cars are. [:)] Furthermore the Twin Spark engine is very frugal at 6.3L/100Km (15.873016km/L of petrol) [thumbsup]

Edited by Normal_aspirated

But even with 120hp at wheels, I still lose out to lots of Sunny, Altis, Lancer leh... [bigcry] Maybe I have a "human speed limiter" sitting beside always... [whip]

I find the current 147's look too "sedated" and moving towards "executive" rather than "sporty" look liao... Why they remove the "hooded" instrument clusters and then put a "Astra styled" silver strip at the rear? And why they change the front fog lamp and signal lamp position back to "normal"? [crazy]

hehe, you are the 1st person I heard saying Twin Spark engine frugal... [laugh] I think 15km/l by Alfa standard is quite good liao...

"But even with 120hp at wheels, I still lose out to lots of Sunny, Altis, Lancer leh... Maybe I have a "human speed limiter" sitting beside always... "

Are you for sure? Maybe theres a tennis ball stuck under your gas pedal. Dude, i'm sure the 2.0 is more than capable of overtaking these cars much less being the 1st to move off at the traffic light.

Mine's a humble 1.6 hor... 120hp with 1.3 ton... Not so good power to weight ratio...

The 2.0 of course is better... [thumbsup]

Conti car BHP figures are quoted for power at the crank as well, not at the wheels.

Factory figures for fuel consumption is far from what you can expect to achieve [sly]

Driven properly around the track, the 1.6L cars will give the 2.0L selespeeds a good run for their money... unless of course you're talking about a seasoned trackie, then he'll run rings around you! [laugh]

"Driven properly around the track, the 1.6L cars will give the 2.0L selespeeds a good run for their money"

Ya, I have heard about it... the key word is "driven properly"... [drivingcar] As far as Alfa driving is concern, I am still a L plate driver... [sweatdrop]

im also surprised as to y AR "detuned" the 1.6l to 105bhp... [hur]

doesnt mak much sense to me cos i dun think it costs MORE for AR to leave the Tspark engine at 120bhp than at 105bhp, or rather i dun see how they saved a lot by detuning the t-spark.

only reasons i can think of is tat they wantd to improve consumption & differentiate their 2.0 tspark wit the 1.6tspark further??

i wonder if a simple remap can release the missing 15bhp as i doubt they restricted the bhp mechanically..

From what I understand, it's not that that they "detune" the 1.6. Both variants of the 1.6 were always there since 146.

I think I read somewhere that the 105hp is without VVT, that makes the diff of 15hp...

It's purely the OMV reasons that EuroAutomobil bring in the 105hp ones...

"But even with 120hp at wheels, I still lose out to lots of Sunny, Altis, Lancer leh... Maybe I have a "human speed limiter" sitting beside always... "

Are you for sure? Maybe theres a tennis ball stuck under your gas pedal. Dude, i'm sure the 2.0 is more than capable of overtaking these cars much less being the 1st to move off at the traffic light.

Are you sure your 147 lose out to Sunny, Altis and Lancer? I always tot the Alfa was much faster than that. 120bhp on the wheels?

Conti car BHP figures are quoted for power at the crank as well, not at the wheels.

Factory figures for fuel consumption is far from what you can expect to achieve [sly]

Just check with you, is it 100% true that conti cars bhp quoted are also on crank? I always tot there were on wheels. Ok, there is the Skoda Octavia classic which is 1.6 and has 75bhp on paper. Does that mean its only around 55-60bhp on the wheels? Which I think its rather impossible as the car is 1.3ton! [:/]

hehe, you are the 1st person I heard saying Twin Spark engine frugal... [laugh] I think 15km/l by Alfa standard is quite good liao...
.....mine protege only 10 to 11km/L, Nissan sunny lesser than tat, Mit Lancer no better, etc. So alfa on paper show it is frugal compare to mine, mah. [:p][smallcry]

hahaha i reckon the focus is about 1.5tons gross weight and it still is able to do the job, plus mines just 100bhp with 145nm of torque.

Dude have faith in your Alfa; have seen similar italians(e.g the lancias and fiats) excel in the accelerating dept. Maybe its also down to your driving style.

Btw, i'm not trying to put down the altis, sunny or any other jap cars.

Edited by Nullifi3d

Mine's a humble 1.6 hor... 120hp with 1.3 ton... Not so good power to weight ratio...

The 2.0 of course is better... [thumbsup]

erm...1st of all, i'm surprise an alfa driver doesn't really know the true dynamics of his own car. it's probably time to get smtn else.

for the 147, it is a high revving car. in other words, it doesn't have much low end pull. when u say u lost out to the Japs, at wat rev range were u at? rev till 3k rpm and expect to beat them? no wonder u lose. yea, do so frequently if u just wana conserve fuel. this car has race car characteristics and its thrives on high revs. floor past 4k and see what happens. 2ndly, the car's specs is not 1.3 ton. its 1.2 ton car with the 2L coming in at 1.25ton.

i put down yr loss (putting it diplomatically) to under usage of alfa power. besides, being a manual car, the driver has the advantage of manipulating the acceleration and cornering, heel and toe etc. u can literally drag the as* out of a manual car u see. Ask those Alfistis who go on track and they will tell you the 120bhp stock is not far off the 2.0 selespeed. I'm sorry i sound abit harsh, but i think its incredibly important that as a 147 owner, i set the record straight to let drivers here know Alfa does not make wimps. Go for a test drive. Floor the manual TS, yes even the 105bhp and tell me if it can't beat the others in the category. enuf said.