Osiris 1st Gear August 13, 2005 Share August 13, 2005 (edited) Here are the instructions on how to remove the glove compartment to access the aircon filter. This is for Nissan Sunny 2004 and Up (Face Lift/Horizontal Grills). It's a very easy task once you know how to. I took some pix to make the instructions clearer. The basic instructions to remove & installed the aircon filter & glove compartment can be found courtesy of Cairefresh (http://www.cairefresh.com/pop-howto-nissan.htm) but actual dismantling of the glove compartment is slightly different for the FL model. 1. Open your glove compartment and clear your stuff. 2. Here's where the instruction differs from Cairefresh. After opening you glove compartment, look on the left side of the glove compartment and locate the hinge shown as 1. Push it and at the same time pull the glove compartment towards you (No. 2). Once it comes off, just pull it out of the identical hinge on the right. [inline "Remove Step 1.jpg"] 3. Follow Cairefresh's instruction 4. Follow Cairefresh's instruction (lift the cover where it says push. slowly remove the whole cover from the top. Remove the filter by gently pulling it out) [inline filter.jpg] 5. After washing the filter (recommended every 10,000km, washing instruction sticker in glove compartment), place the filter back to the slot. Your filter should be placed as shown above with Nissan word upright, though I dunno if it matters. I have numerous dried leaves and 'garbage' after 10 months 6. Follow Cairefresh's instruction 7. Putting back the Glove compartment. Locate the right hinge as shown. You should align it with the 'male' hinge on the bottom right of the glove compartment. Once that is done, snap back the joint on the left side. Once it it properly fixed, the simple job is done. [inline Installing_Cover.jpg] Edited August 13, 2005 by Osiris ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie August 13, 2005 Share August 13, 2005 but i thought stock sunny doesn;t come wif in cabin filter de? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 14, 2005 Author Share August 14, 2005 got lah, the 2nd picture is the stock one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khimwoon Neutral Newbie August 14, 2005 Share August 14, 2005 sunny give everything haha... value for money lei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie August 14, 2005 Share August 14, 2005 i gonna go try later liaoz.....see how dirty is it..anyway how to clean the stock filter, using wad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 15, 2005 Author Share August 15, 2005 The instruction said to clean it by stirring it gently in soapy water and rinsing it. I vacumn it first to get rid of all those leaves & dirt before doing so. After that let it dry. So make sure you won't be using the car until the filter is dry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 18, 2005 Author Share August 18, 2005 forget one more detail, to secure the glove compartment after reinstalling, you need to push the hinge back, from the inside of the glove compartment, will take photo and upload later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 18, 2005 Share August 18, 2005 I checked mine and saw a plastic cover with a screw covering the hinge. Is urs also like that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 18, 2005 Author Share August 18, 2005 mine a plastic cover, din notice the screw, will check and let u know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 31, 2010 Share July 31, 2010 Old dusty thread . . . . dug it up to inform you guys I changed my Nissan Sunny N16 aircon filter today. As easy as eating a pie . . . and aircon used to be strong but now the air current much stronger The old filter was choked with dust and small leaves, a couple of dead insects too! Bought the new filter from Alexandra Village, shop near the famous ang koo kueh stall, it came lined with charcoal strips to absorb odour. $14? So cheap meh? Unker told me it was OEM but I couldn't help feeling it was a charpalang brand. Anyway $14, mai hiam lah and unker very friendly and gave a lot of advices on car maintenance. He speaks good English, BBC grade! Aiyoh, happy like bird Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 31, 2010 Share July 31, 2010 I usually when damaged, maybe 3rd years. Got from Stamfo_rd or Autob_cs, usually $40-$50. You got it at $14 which is really cheap. Routine maintenance is usually blasting them with compessed air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 31, 2010 Share July 31, 2010 (edited) I usually when damaged, maybe 3rd years. Got from Stamfo_rd or Autob_cs, usually $40-$50. You got it at $14 which is really cheap. Routine maintenance is usually blasting them with compessed air. Ermm . . bro, dirt cheap . . . har har har! Thanks to brudder Osiris for the instructions. Edited July 31, 2010 by Vroomtattat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 31, 2010 Share July 31, 2010 Old dusty thread . . . . dug it up to inform you guys I changed my Nissan Sunny N16 aircon filter today. As easy as eating a pie . . . and aircon used to be strong but now the air current much stronger The old filter was choked with dust and small leaves, a couple of dead insects too! Bought the new filter from Alexandra Village, shop near the famous ang koo kueh stall, it came lined with charcoal strips to absorb odour. $14? So cheap meh? Unker told me it was OEM but I couldn't help feeling it was a charpalang brand. Anyway $14, mai hiam lah and unker very friendly and gave a lot of advices on car maintenance. He speaks good English, BBC grade! Aiyoh, happy like bird lucky you are wise enough not to buy filter from the AD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear July 31, 2010 Share July 31, 2010 lucky you are wise enough not to buy filter from the AD Ha ha! Thank goodness for MCF . . . . and my name 'aint Robert Toh Been sprucing up my Princess recently . . . my darling! MUACK! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 31, 2010 Share July 31, 2010 Ha ha! Thank goodness for MCF . . . . and my name 'aint Robert Toh Been sprucing up my Princess recently . . . my darling! MUACK! There is actually someone selling aircon filters for various car makes. His point of contacts are either Teck Whye or Hougang. OEM types with either white or carbon tyes. I am impressed with him as he takes time to explain the difference between the different types of aircon filters and is quite knowledgeable. Pricing wise, his products are as competitive as what you had obtained in AV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear July 31, 2010 Share July 31, 2010 this is the guy that yuan have talked about... http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/al...7257&ref=mf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 this is the guy that yuan have talked about... http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/al...7257&ref=mf Thanks bros, noted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear August 1, 2010 Share August 1, 2010 No buget leh. I'll go try my luck next week. Hope they have for Toyota, maybe same price or cheaper when they see me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...