Str2 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 (edited) Hi All, Some questions... For oil ratings, the front 5W,10W or 15W is more for the winter conditions, can I say is it not worrisome for us as we are in a tropical country and does not see -10 Deg temp (unless u park in Snow City). So our focus is the second set of numbers-30,-40 and -50 rating right? ...So is the higher this number the better under high operating temp? So is a 5W-50 better than 5W-30 and 5W-40? Is a -50 thicker than -30 /-40? (leads to less fuel economy?) Edited August 5, 2005 by Str2 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 yup .... the 2nd set more impt as it determines the "thickness" of the oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 Looking out for it now.. Once got sale, will stock up at least 1 dozen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grandfather Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 good news... only for 5W30 or got 10w30 too? Just went over to buy 6bottles, didnt see the 10w30 there. hmmm.. does the oil have any "expiry date"? No the bottle/box nv print any expiry date leh. but i am abt to go for my 5k svc so buy and standby lor. than after reading wat other posts, maybe will try to change the oil every 5-8k millage. when got promotion for 10w30 then maybe go buy some to keep also. anyway can share the oil wif my sister as she have just bought a "red plated" car also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 for about $10 , its worth it! mobile 1 leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 u mean u didnt buy tat time giant got sale for 10w30? i might be going down imm 4 dinner.. let me know if u wanna get some. u have my number right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grandfather Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 u check if still got stock for 10w30 or not lor. come back here and post to let us know , ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 wah now i become storeman... check stocks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grandfather Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 hahaha, dun like that lah. me last time CQ mah, so now ask u check stock lor. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 so? last time i medic... want me to poke u with a 30 gauge syringe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavier Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 Currently I'm using the 10w30 API SM, any issue if I get this SL formula for my next oil change? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavier Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 for about $10 , its worth it! mobile 1 leh... Mobile or Mobil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 No issues. I would actually prefer SL over SM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grandfather Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 heng i no more reservist leh. if last time u poke me, then i let u run around naked (dun let u do kit exchange) hahaha, then add more items into your SAF 1212 and make you pay for them when your De-kit. then u will Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavier Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 SL has more additive than SM right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 Yep! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 u super chao keng or ROD liao ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 for about $10 , its worth it! mobile 1 leh... Mobile or Mobil? mobil 1 lah type 2 fast 2 furious liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...