Schneider79 Clutched August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 is it ??? got plate number??? i go find the car and take a look... maybe can snapshot the car... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 (edited) In so far, there is only ONE superstrut version SS2 and it is SIlver in colour. The previous owner 139 took back the # plate. It is now owned by a teacher who is my friend as well. Outlook wise, u cant tell. celica got 4 version lah...ss1, ss2, trd sport M, ss2 superstrut. ss1 produce 140hp, 4speed auto, or 5 speed manual. ss2 produce 190hp, 4speed auto or 6 speed manual. trd sport m 200hp 6 speed manual only, got alot of trd goodies! cost 130k when it arrive. 5 in spore, 1 crash liao. ss2 superstrut, is a ss2, but with alot of upgrade, lsd, superstrut suspension & dun no still got wat, very exp, last june i ask for it, they asking for 125k to bring in. spore i think till now only got 1... if buying ss2, get e 6 speed manual, dun get e auto, u will regret. Edited August 2, 2005 by Achtung Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 There are 2 Blues, 1 White and 1 Black on the road. I know all 3 owners. The last is owned by an Ah-Neh. Not sure if he sold it. not really... if you happen to know all the 4 number plates anyway.. dont think all 4 of them will change hands unless owner to owner and it's at a good price. dont think got the superstrunt in sg... if have car mags will feature that car... moreover there are issues on the TRD sports M to be imported into singapore... let alone the superstrunt with so much more goodies... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iforu Neutral Newbie August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 how much he pay for the superstrut? the 1st owner... the logcard also write ss2 only is it? like sport m? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 SS1 is more of a poser. Personally, for S$10K less, I'd rather get the Altis 1.8 which shares the same engine as the SS1, and it can sit 4 comfortably. Personal opinion only, OK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 That was in Year 2001 when I also owned a Celica bro!! He could have paid S$135K ++. There is no diff in the logcard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firstcall Clutched August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 yeeeup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 (edited) yep, the ss1 is using a 'normal' vvt-i engine, same engine block 1ZZ-FE used in 1.8l Rav4, 1.8lCorolla, Wish etc (with diff engine ppower tune between 125-145ps tho). while the ss2 uses 2ZZ-GE VVTL-i a very much more powerful 1.8l engine that delivers 190ps. other than that, ss1 comes with only front disc brakes leaving the rear with drum brakes system - very un-befiting for any sports car. ss2 also comes with steering shift for sporty gear change. Yep, I'm very familiar with the 1zz vs 2zz. For use in Singapore, I'll highly recommend buying 2zz version. 1st, you get higher redline at 8400 (around there) You get 180 hp as compared to 1.8 1zz 130hp. Displacement is 1.8liter, not too big. 2zz short block is different from 1zz, so don't think they are the same. 2zz valve cover is high flow version, (2zz-Ge, G means high performance, 1zz-Fe f means economy) 2zz has "lift" which is very aggressive, and much higher output than regular VTEC. Higher compression 2zz comes with 6 speed MT only and is much better than the 5spd, the 5 speed shifter is one of the worst feel shifter I've tried on a new car. With some minor mods, you can easily hit 190hp to the wheel. Engine feel/dynamics of 1zz is just inferior than 2zz. Also, you can brag that your engine is used in Lotus Elise. The price difference between the two cars is much higher (in percentage) in US market, that's why I think the 2zz-ge is the better buy. The only down side is that 2zz clutch is too weak for 180 hp and will wear out in 2 years. Edited August 2, 2005 by Zrun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adamantine Neutral Newbie August 3, 2005 Share August 3, 2005 y does yr avatar car appear to become slightly bigger when i look at it haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched August 3, 2005 Share August 3, 2005 your nick looks familiar... dont you owned a celica before ?? now b4 RSK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear August 3, 2005 Share August 3, 2005 Yes. I am LanChiaoLang. U are right. But I am not famous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched August 3, 2005 Share August 3, 2005 aiya... famous or not is no matter to me... jsut find that your nick looks familiar thats all... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched August 3, 2005 Share August 3, 2005 1.8 zz in SS1 is 140, not 130. and 2zz does not come only in Manual, there is auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie August 3, 2005 Share August 3, 2005 My mistake. Maybe due to emission regulations difference, it is tuned for 130hp in USA. Also, they discontinued auto since 03 in USA, probably not true for Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kalaplus Neutral Newbie August 12, 2005 Author Share August 12, 2005 SS1 is more of a poser. Personally, for S$10K less, I'd rather get the Altis 1.8 which shares the same engine as the SS1, and it can sit 4 comfortably. Personal opinion only, OK. y say until like this, very insulting to celica driver. wat u mean by poser altis & celica both different class, how can compare them? so wat they have same engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kalaplus Neutral Newbie August 12, 2005 Author Share August 12, 2005 thanks everyone for helping me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wahlao Neutral Newbie August 12, 2005 Share August 12, 2005 welcome Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched August 12, 2005 Share August 12, 2005 No need to get angry over this. You'll get remarks such as this pretty often from Altis drivers (who also don't know about the 130 vs 140 difference) who failed to appreciate that there is more than just engine power, ie overall handling and balance. He is also the same guy who said that Altis 1.8 can reach up to 80km/hr with the 1st gear, so there u go. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...