Celica

Kalaplus

i thinking of buying this car, any review on it? got a few version is it?

i saw 2 new celica selling, 1 @80k+, 1 @ 90k+ wat the diff?

post-2-1122618318_thumb.jpg

probably imported at different time & hence diff OMV due to yen fluctuations, manual vs auto tranny, or the more ex one comes with extra stuff like bodykit etc.

celica comes in 2 variants - ss1 & ss2

you can go www.celicasg.com for more info [sly]

Edited by Wahlao

Nice looks, but IMO, a bit soft looking overall. Some even commented it's a bit "feminine". But looks are subjective. If you like it, then nothing wrong with the looks! Stay by your opinion.

Performance wise, there is a discernible diff bet SS1 and SS2. SS1 is not really free revving. If your budget allows for lower performance SS1, then I would think the Integra GSR is a better choice, engine wise.

yep, the ss1 is using a 'normal' vvt-i engine, same engine block 1ZZ-FE used in 1.8l Rav4, 1.8lCorolla, Wish etc (with diff engine ppower tune between 125-145ps tho). while the ss2 uses 2ZZ-GE VVTL-i a very much more powerful 1.8l engine that delivers 190ps.

other than that, ss1 comes with only front disc brakes leaving the rear with drum brakes system - very un-befiting for any sports car.

ss2 also comes with steering shift for sporty gear change.

Celica comes with 3 variants. SS1, SS2 and TRD Sports M.

Resale value for SS1 is lower than SS2. TRD Sports M left 3 or 4 on our road. 1 confirmed total lost.

SS1 is 4 speed gearbox, rear drum brakes. Less horsepower.

SS2 is steptronic gearbox, rear disc brakes. 10 or 15 horsepower more than SS1.

TRD Sports M is a limited edition car produced by Toyota. More than 200 horse, fully loaded with TRD parts.

If you're looking for just looks and comfort riding, get the SS1.

If you're brutal on the car and need more power, get a manual SS2.

TRD Sports M, find only if you're offering them a good price.

celica got 4 version lah...

ss1, ss2, trd sport M, ss2 superstrut.

ss1 produce 140hp, 4speed auto, or 5 speed manual.

ss2 produce 190hp, 4speed auto or 6 speed manual.

trd sport m 200hp 6 speed manual only, got alot of trd goodies! cost 130k when it arrive. 5 in spore, 1 crash liao.

ss2 superstrut, is a ss2, but with alot of upgrade, lsd, superstrut suspension & dun no still got wat, very exp, last june i ask for it, they asking for 125k to bring in. spore i think till now only got 1...

if buying ss2, get e 6 speed manual, dun get e auto, u will regret.

Iforu has given quite an accurate description of what is available. (I guess must be a celica owner).

But you must ask yourself whether do you expect to rev hard when driving. For SS2, the 2nd powerband comes at about 6.4k-7.8k when the lift kicks in. That's why it's not advisable to have auto as it's not easy to keep the powerband in lift due to the tall gearing. If you are going to be a trackie, then go for SS2(M).

SS1 is pretty good for daily driving, auto or manual is up to u though most regret after getting auto. Even though it's drum brakes, braking is quite ok. Most pple forget that about 70% of the braking efforts comes from the front discs.

ah... but the SS2 superstrunt is not in singapore... if there is 1, a lot of people will find it and really know who much difference is in that car. Even the TRD sports M are registered as SS2 on the logcard...

not in spore? tat time someone tell me, there is a yellow superstrut ss2.

ya sport m are registered as ss2 on e logcard, haa..canot sell e car to dealer, they quote u ss2 price [furious].

not really... if you happen to know all the 4 number plates [:p]

anyway.. dont think all 4 of them will change hands unless owner to owner and it's at a good price.

dont think got the superstrunt in sg... if have car mags will feature that car... moreover there are issues on the TRD sports M to be imported into singapore... let alone the superstrunt with so much more goodies...

I have been driving a Celica SS1 Auto for 2 years. I bought it mainly because I like its looks and it is easy to maintain. Fuel consumption wise is quite good, about 11-12 km per litre on mainly city driving (this is with 17" rims). However,if you prefer some performance, then maybe the SS2 especially the Manual will be much better. Agreed that some people actually find the Celica abit feminine looking. I like it, I am female. But my husband does not feel comfortable when he drives it and would prefer his sedan anytime. [hur]

If you wish to find out more about the SS1 and SS2, you should go for one of the Celicasg Meet-ups on Fridays(log onto their website). They are extremely helpful.

hey bro,is the SS2 drum or disc brake behind???

SS2 comes with Disc brakes and definetely more than just 10-15bhp [hur][thumbsup]

quite rare to find in SG. If got $$ buy SS2 over SS1.