Magfocus 5th Gear August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 (edited) Quote But is it true that Megane has better pick up I dunno. I sat in the driver's seat in the showroom, and got out immediately. the cabin didn't even seem inviting enough for me to go test drive. The Astra... now, that's a different story. It feels a little plasticky, and it's still a bit flimsy for a Conti ride. But when I drove it, I found it to be very smooth. The transmission is good. a bit smoother than the Selespeed, and not as quick to bite, but still quite nippy. A little too smooth for my liking, but it should suit normal folks just fine. The suspension is soft and comfy. you can't jerk the wheel too hard, or the car will seem like it's going to lose it (or maybe I just too used to my car). I think for the price it's asking for, I wouldn't mind going for it. The interior is pleasant. Not awe inspiring or crime inducing, especially when you turn the lights on, but still quite nice to look at for long drives. The Steering is light, and pretty responsive, if somewhat a bit too light for my liking. (too used to my car again) I wonder what kind of mods the car can take. How much you can push that engine... Honestly, it's a beaut. Yes, i agree that some of the plastics are not as good as some in its class, but flimsy? definitely more solid feeling than most..a very germanic feel Edited August 4, 2005 by Magfocus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whistlad Neutral Newbie August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 Quote aha... i guessed as much i saw a coupe version... chio coupe? must be a two-door sports hatch u saw or r u toking abt the megane RS very limited on the road now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whistlad Neutral Newbie August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 Quote Megane - Few workshops available apart from Excl & BCC (Espace, few others) - There is road side assist - More powerful engine and more aftermarket gadgets (At least now) yup agree...a lot of kakis prefer BCC to Exklusiv cos of waiting time, no need make appointment, got new waiting room, more experienced mechs and can see wat the mechanic do to your car there aftermarket stuffs, go to Espace, can even indent wat u wan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whistlad Neutral Newbie August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 Quote I dunno. I sat in the driver's seat in the showroom, and got out immediately. the cabin didn't even seem inviting enough for me to go test drive. The Astra... now, that's a different story. It feels a little plasticky, and it's still a bit flimsy for a Conti ride. But when I drove it, I found it to be very smooth. The transmission is good. a bit smoother than the Selespeed, and not as quick to bite, but still quite nippy. A little too smooth for my liking, but it should suit normal folks just fine. The suspension is soft and comfy. you can't jerk the wheel too hard, or the car will seem like it's going to lose it (or maybe I just too used to my car). I think for the price it's asking for, I wouldn't mind going for it. The interior is pleasant. Not awe inspiring or crime inducing, especially when you turn the lights on, but still quite nice to look at for long drives. The Steering is light, and pretty responsive, if somewhat a bit too light for my liking. (too used to my car again) I wonder what kind of mods the car can take. How much you can push that engine... Honestly, it's a beaut. Yes, i agree that some of the plastics are not as good as some in its class, but flimsy? definitely more solid feeling than most..a very germanic feel yup agree, in fact i looked at the astra first b4 considering my megane now...liked the looks and overall of the car...price was like a few k more than the megane sedan but almost the same with the megane hatch at tat time i bought i believe...but as i was looking for a family car, i considered the rear passenger legroom and interior space, the megane was a clear winner in this category Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 Quote Yes, i agree that some of the plastics are not as good as some in its class, but flimsy? definitely more solid feeling than most..a very germanic feel well, German or not, I dunno. It didn't really feel like it was worth the money it costed. I mean, it looked good, drove very well, felt great, but somehow I expected better build quality. It's sad to say that even an Altis has better build quality than this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie August 4, 2005 Share August 4, 2005 Quote haha.....as much as i guessed. then again, if i were Autoeurokars, i wouldn't bring it in alsso. how many singaporeans can appreciate and buy this car? well, how many people would buy a Peugeot 206CC? or a 307CC? or a Renault Megane Coupe? Or Alfa Romeo GT? There are quite a few who bought these. These would be the people I'd aim for. Hell, I'd buy one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 i think its the sports hatch... but i didnt see it in the show room leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 ok u got a pt there also. its abt marketing an image as well as risk tolerance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 If u r referring 2 d Megane sedan, it's parked rite infront of d showrm at Leng Kee.....it's red in colour if my memory serve me well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 Quote Ford Focus or Renault Megane? Will like the Focus, but will confirm Megane due to: 1. Regent motor service sucks - die die must stick to Regent service 2. No other workshop is authorised/know how to service Ford Megane - Few workshops available apart from Excl & BCC (Espace, few others) - There is road side assist - More powerful engine and more aftermarket gadgets (At least now) Tks 4 d input, bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 Quote i wl go fr ford Can share d reason Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 2 certain extent, i do agree wif u in terms of look.....can't comment much on Astra's handling as yet 2 test drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 not lah , not sedan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 Even d Hatch, it's there.....i'm quite sure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 i probably miss it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dagger13 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Author Share August 5, 2005 Wat's ur ride nw? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 Quote ok u got a pt there also. its abt marketing an image as well as risk tolerance. Well, that may be, but Opel is hardly a luxury brand for cars. Even in Europe, where it's sometimes called a Vauxhall, these are the budget-level mass-distribution car models. Only in SG do we think of the segregation of Conti vs Jap. This is why Opel can sell at this price in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whistlad Neutral Newbie August 5, 2005 Share August 5, 2005 Quote i think its the sports hatch... but i didnt see it in the show room leh...they always change their display units i dunno y... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...