Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Divers

you mean the same tryre size of 205/55R16 got 2 type of rating in 91V and 94W?.. umm.. from different country right?... i agree with strutles, 94W is better mah...

94W is extra load

Well, the Michelin agents only bring in the Thai made version. Their take is the rubber compound is different from the European ones and more suited for our weather. Seems the parallel importers dun offer Thai version.

I tend to lean towards the Thai made being more suitable. Michelin tyres have very high QC. It is not a concern for me and I actually prefer these tyres.

The PS4 tyres is amazing on the roads during these few days of heavy downpour. It cuts thru water and yet is extremely grippy on dry roads. It is also much more comfortable and less bumpy than my previous tyres of CSC5 runflats but these are not exactly known for comfort. I skidded on them a couple of times in the wet.

I dun use Japanese tyres.

It means harder compound as compared to European source.

I like softer compound as it has better grip

94W rated tire is higher rated( speed and safety aspect) compared to 91V.

Why would you require a lower rated PS4? If you look at comfort tires, its more likely you can get 91V

I go according to manufacturer's specs.

I know probably 94W is a better tyre than 91V - but there is too many unknown for me.

If there is no need for a lower rated PS4,  then it should be there in the first place.

you mean the same tryre size of 205/55R16 got 2 type of rating in 91V and 94W?.. umm.. from different country right?...  i agree with strutles, 94W is better mah...

Very likely different country because one is Authorized Distributor (94W) and Parallel Importer (91V).

I agree probably 94W is a better tyre.  

I am skeptical if the suspension of my bread and butter car sedan can take the "performance".

I know probably 94W is a better tyre than 91V - but there is too many unknown for me.

If there is no need for a lower rated PS4,  then it should be there in the first place.

Very likely different country because one is Authorized Distributor (94W) and Parallel Importer (91V).

I am skeptical if the suspension of my bread and butter car sedan can take the "performance".

i think you overly concern... either if these tyre wont kill your suspension...  

don't tell me if i buy a VW and it comes with hankook tyre, i can only replace with hankook and worry michelin tyre will kill the suspension , right?....

I have been using F1A2 since maybe 4 years ago? Never once sidewall cracked.

Even if cracked, hard to claim warranty I feel.

My F1A2 did have compound cracked and peel off  at both front tyres ....lucky have been identified by my workshop during car servicing ....It is made in year 2014 , Thailand Made.  Only 2 year plus become like that ....

Too bad that time, i did not see the thread above regarding this issues . 

I will never use Goodyear tyres anymore no matter what they said ...

Those who intended to get Michelin PS4, do note that there are heaps of fake ones in the market. After much consideration, I decided to put on hold PS4 and go for Pzero.

Latest Pzero P4 is wonderful tyres ...can match well with PSS ....

Kindly take note PS4 is not replacement of PSS ....it is totally different design ...

Some said PS4 is actually replacement of PS3 or PS2 ...

Of coz as usually  Michelin Tyres perform very well in wet conditions ....

The PS4 side wall is abit soft which might not suitable for SUV and MPV .....

If there is no need for a lower rated PS4, then it should be there in the first place.

Tyre load & speed rating no need follow manufacturer.

Higher tyre = pump less air

It means harder compound as compared to European source.

I like softer compound as it has better grip

I dun really know if these two differs much. The ADs version is cheaper though and I got a very fresh batch. Nov 2016.

i am amused why you are even considering PS4 if that's the case  [laugh]

My F1A2 did have compound cracked and peel off  at both front tyres ....lucky have been identified by my workshop during car servicing ....It is made in year 2014 , Thailand Made.  Only 2 year plus become like that ....

Too bad that time, i did not see the thread above regarding this issues . 

I will never use Goodyear tyres anymore no matter what they said ...

all my F1A2 are made in germany.

it's ok if u dun use Goodyear, so many other tyre brands around.

but do check that the tyres meet your manufacturer specs and also whether the performance tyres will affect your suspension or not.

i am amused why you are even considering PS4 if that's the case  [laugh]

Upgrade from PS3.  [laugh]

Tyre load & speed rating no need follow manufacturer.

Higher tyre = pump less air

I used think it is not necessary until I experienced tyre that doesn't match with the suspension.

I had to pump in more air to make it less "comfort"

i think you overly concern... either if these tyre wont kill your suspension...  

don't tell me if i buy a VW and it comes with hankook tyre, i can only replace with hankook and worry michelin tyre will kill the suspension , right?....

IIRC, my previous car clocked 280k km with original pair of rear shock absorbers.

If the front shock absorbers had not been changed because of troubleshooting, 

likely they would last just as long.

Of course towards the last 20k or 30k,  the rear showed signs of wear.

I recall the others driving this model that have upgraded their rims/tyres, some have suspension issues.   

If original comes with Michelin, I would of course want to stick to that.  [laugh]

I was on PS3 and so far, changed a rear shock absorber due to "noise".

dun worry about it lah. different load rating won't affect much one  [laugh]

I moved from V to W (different brand but same load index),  one rear shock absorber "died".  

I also want to believe no difference.  [laugh]

Latest Pzero P4 is wonderful tyres ...can match well with PSS ....

Kindly take note PS4 is not replacement of PSS ....it is totally different design ...

Some said PS4 is actually replacement of PS3 or PS2 ...

Of coz as usually  Michelin Tyres perform very well in wet conditions ....

The PS4 side wall is abit soft which might not suitable for SUV and MPV .....

Are you sure that is the case? Pzero is usually the tire that is known to give you ZERO grip. I recently had a chance to swap tires and wheels with a friend on PZ4s and they sucked so bad. They are as bad as the Goodyears I had previously.

PS4 Sidewall isn't soft. PS4 has a weird join between the sidwall and contact patch. which you can strangely flip around. But it is by no means soft. It is flat and rigid

I moved from V to W (different brand but same load index),  one rear shock absorber "died".  

I also want to believe no difference.  [laugh]

i see. maybe the suspension is already worn and just nice after you changed the tyre it kaput?

this reminds me of a similar situation that my colleague shared. Different brand but same RON rating.

he switched from Esso RON95 to SPC RON95 as his tank was really low and SPC was the nearest station that time.

Although he dislikes SPC but LL no choice gotta pump. His fuel pump malfunctioned a few days later. He claimed that SPC petrol quality is lousy thus causing the pump to spoil, cos he used Esso and no issues at all before.

Strange if u ask me, or just sheer coincidence? anyway he's the type that whatever he thinks, he's correct one.  [laugh]

Are you sure that is the case? Pzero is usually the tire that is known to give you ZERO grip. I recently had a chance to swap tires and wheels with a friend on PZ4s and they sucked so bad. They are as bad as the Goodyears I had previously.

PS4 Sidewall isn't soft. PS4 has a weird join between the sidwall and contact patch. which you can strangely flip around. But it is by no means soft. It is flat and rigid

Pirelli no good, Goodyear also no good, are you sure you not Michelin salesman?  [laugh]

I moved from V to W (different brand but same load index), one rear shock absorber "died".

I also want to believe no difference. [laugh]

Eeh... v or w is the maximum speed rating of the tyres.. V for used up to 240kmh, w =280kmh. I think you think too much over a 94w vs 91v rating between same brand and same model tyres from different place of manufacturing.. if it's Michelin or Continental.. QC should be ok.. although having said that, I wouldn't buy made in china Michelin though Edited by Chucky2007

I find the Pirelli Zero series tyres to be excellent tyres leh... just noisy and hard sidewall..

But I think bec I drive like pussy wimps that's why most tyres acceptable to me... only tyres I think is like having really bad grip is Toyo Open Country UT... if you don't need to drive off road more than 50% of the time.. avoid these series of Toyo tyres