Global financial situation

Lots of volatility in the markets now...

Those with weak hearts, better stay at side and observe... no harm :)

i would think there is still a bit of downside to go, though far off from meltdown...

shanghai index today closing is still above 3350 when it opened in Jan 15

I believe the concern now (as evident from your chart) is how quickly it fell to today's level. :huh:

that's the usual pattern of stock market bubble ma

take 6 months to cheong from Jan to Jun with no economic support ... purely speculation

news reported that ah gong ah ma ... ah beng ah lian ... all put in their life savings including pension money and sell house take mortgage, borrow money and loans to speculate stocks

big players makan enough liao ... they have cashed out and let all the ignorance investors bleed

yeah ... crash normally comes fast and furious ... in 2 weeks 120 billions yuan wiped out

I believe the concern now (as evident from your chart) is how quickly it fell to today's level. :huh:

Toothiewabbit, on 10 Jul 2015 - 12:49 PM, said:

Aussie gers with their aussie accent :wub:

lol ya...but maybe body language same :ignoring:

some critics said ... the chinese govt is making the same mistake as US Feds ...

try to buy up the market ... instead of letting it to correct ... pump more money

Among the latest intervention measures, the central People's Bank of China said on Thursday that it was providing liquidity to the state-backed China Securities Finance Corp. (CSF) to help stabilise the market, reaffirming an earlier pledge.

In a separate announcement, the stock regulator said CSF will provide liquidity for investors to buy so-called "public funds" -- similar to mutual funds.

Other recent moves include allowing insurance companies to invest more assets in stocks and a programme to buy the shares of smaller companies.

On Thursday, six monitored insurance companies saw a net purchase of 15.1 billion yuan ($2.43 billion) in stocks and stock funds in a show of confidence, Xinhua reported, quoting China's insurance regulator.

some critics said ... the chinese govt is making the same mistake as US Feds ...

try to buy up the market ... instead of letting it to correct ... pump more money

let it correct is too painful/ bitter a medicine

better to try and prop up the mkt.. who knows, there could be a miracle

China represents the greatest investment opportunity

of our life time. If you could go back in time and buy

US shares at 1929 depressed prices, wouldn't you want

to do it?

Look at how much the US stock market has gone up since.

then better hope china is like usa in 1929

and not japan in 1990 [laugh]

Stunned like vegetable......,

Aiyoh, no need to stun lah just dont be in denial thats all

Stock market still chiong leh ... weird ...

Too much excess cash floating in the system, funds stomped from one area will find home in another. Only an interest rate rise would stop that

Stock market still chiong leh ... weird ...

Too much excess cash floating in the system, funds stomped from one area will find home in another. Only an interest rate rise would stop that

I just wanna ask. not trying to be funny

if there is too much money, wouldn't interest rate drop?

Interest rate rise from US side by 2016. I doubt will be huge rise due to instability in China and Euro. But definitely will have to rise.

Gold also dropping.

The biggest instability should come from China rather than from Greece.... stock market balloon, land prices instability, etc...

Maybe not now, but who knows?

Hrmm its very complicated relationship between the Fed and the interest rates, from my simplistic understand its work like this

- Fed issues bonds to raise money

- Money is loaned to banks at low rates to spur the economy

- Fraction of it goes it the actual economy, most goes into property and stock market, bond market, commodities etc creating bubbles.

The fed keeps the rates low to ensure the economy is kept ticking (also debt repayment low), once the economy is self sufficient enough then they would raise the rates to rein in inflation and debt loading which has it adverse impacts on the long term as well.

http://www.economicshelp.org/blog/4927/economics/what-debt-levels-are-dangerous/

Its actually very simple.

They printed so much dollars that it is now worth

as much as toilet paper.

So if everyone took their wheel barrows of dollars

into the shops to buy things at the same time

there is too much money and not enough goods.

So to prevent this the banks pay people to hold their

money for them and the longer they hold their money

the more money they will pay them. The amount of

"more" money they will pay them is called "interest".

Simply put if you let me hold your 10 rolls of toilet paper

for one year, I will return you 11 rolls and the extra roll

is the "interest". "Interest" is also known as the price

of money. The more you give me to hold and the longer

I hold it I will pay you more. [thumbsup]

SG Debt to GDP ratio is about 100% of GDP.

Not counting reserves I think.

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/singapore/government-debt-to-gdp

Hrmm its very complicated relationship between the Fed and the interest rates, from my simplistic understand its work like this

- Fed issues bonds to raise money

- Money is loaned to banks at low rates to spur the economy

- Fraction of it goes it the actual economy, most goes into property and stock market, bond market, commodities etc creating bubbles.

The fed keeps the rates low to ensure the economy is kept ticking (also debt repayment low), once the economy is self sufficient enough then they would raise the rates to rein in inflation and debt loading which has it adverse impacts on the long term as well.

http://www.economicshelp.org/blog/4927/economics/what-debt-levels-are-dangerous/

Edited by Seohster

the media or so call analyst/economist mostly jiak liao bi

sti drop nia..sure have some excuses to use...like Greece...us unemployment rate up...weaker export figures......profit taking.......bla...bla ...bla

ai koon liao

Media, don't create news / stories, then really nothing to do.

So, every small thing that can be reported on will be reported on lor..

Outside market already so quiet. Sales as compared to last year same period is so chum... Next year will be more gloomy