Utilities bill for 3-room HDB

Bluepica

what's the temp settings on your aircon and fridge?

room 1 - 26

room 2 - 24

window casement - 22

fridge low (both freezer n fridge)

my wife when we first moved in, was looking at our electricity bill. Then ask me how come more than her parent's place. Also 5 room and my in laws in all the time.

I say u want to switch on AC, don't expect a bill <100 dollars even if we are not in the house most of the time.

Normal days :

Mon to Sun, 1 AC on in master bedroom from 8pm - 9am

Sat, 1 AC on occasionally in noon.

Average bills = $150+

1 month during my wife confinement :

MBR AC on 24/7...

2nd BR on @ night, occasionally during daytime

That month bill = $400+

Head count : 3 adults & 2 kids

[dizzy]

Yeah I also say.

Ok... long time back, I was living in my fathers 2br condo while he stayed in his other flat. My family consumption then with 2 kids was always higher than $350/month. But this place gets very hot and not very breezy so 3 splits was running almost 24/7 cos of my young kids.

Later on, I move away to my own place and mum and dad move to the smaller condo after selling their older flat. But dad never use AC that much - only a few hours before going to bed - but still his bills were about 350$ :D

He got pissed off and scolded SP services after a few months. They sent a technician over and afterwards gave a credit for 400$ in his next bill. After that, his bills are in the 100-150 range.

What I think happened... whoever takes the meter reading every other month, didn't bother doing it... just cooked up some numbers. Dad moves in... not a new account, so the fella didn't know no. of people have reduced. So bill remains the same. What do you think?

we used 2 inverter aircon and 1 window casement unit everynight. instant water heater.

600 kWh a month for these ; about there lah. Given that many 3rm flats do not have air conditioning , your consumption when compared to national average will be much higher .

Your window unit may be a guzzler ; and the temperature setting of your AC plays a part too .

Ok... long time back, I was living in my fathers 2br condo while he stayed in his other flat. My family consumption then with 2 kids was always higher than $350/month. But this place gets very hot and not very breezy so 3 splits was running almost 24/7 cos of my young kids.

Later on, I move away to my own place and mum and dad move to the smaller condo after selling their older flat. But dad never use AC that much - only a few hours before going to bed - but still his bills were about 350$ :D

He got pissed off and scolded SP services after a few months. They sent a technician over and afterwards gave a credit for 400$ in his next bill. After that, his bills are in the 100-150 range.

What I think happened... whoever takes the meter reading every other month, didn't bother doing it... just cooked up some numbers. Dad moves in... not a new account, so the fella didn't know no. of people have reduced. So bill remains the same. What do you think?

I have to look at the bill again but there is quite a lot of variance month-to-month. Some months its in the low 100s but the last one at 160ish is the highest I've seen so far.

But I submitted my own reading every month :(

any chances of meter problem?

But I submitted my own reading every month :(

any chances of meter problem?

I'd say try cutting down on one AC unit for a month and seeing. Or both if possible. As others have pointed out... your AC usage is high right

Yes!.. year end coming, cold weather, will try during that period...

Better to compare units of usage rather than dollar value.

My usage for 2 adult humans and 6 cats in Sep 14:

Electricity - 242 kWh (generally around 180 - 200 kWh monthly if never use aircon but as Sep is hot, I think I turned on 1 aircon blower for ~20 days for 6.5 hours each time set at 25 degrees.)

Water - 8.2 cubic m (4 to 5 full loads per week + 4 showers per day)

Gas - 62 kWh (only use 5 times per week for breakfast + occasional meals + 4 showers per day as my heater is gas operated)

My electricity and water consumption patterns have been consistent for the past 14 years over 2 different addresses.

But I think my gas usage is a little on the high side since I switched to gas water heater (national average only 88 units). I used LPG gas tanks last time and 1 tank (~$30+) can last me 12 months if I only cook breakfast and the occasional meal.

My bills are always seems to be above national average every month. electricity alone cost as high as 600units monthly ! water and gas are still acceptable. we used 2 inverter aircon and 1 window casement unit everynight. instant water heater. cold water washing machine daily and a fridge, that's all.... the rest of the appliances consumption are quite negligible... I've started to monitor 24hrs usage because the bill has been climbing monthly and I really can't narrow down to what's really going on..

I heard my friend staying in 3-room, with daily aircon usage only pays like less than $100 for monthly overall bill

what's you 3-room utilities bill like?

this is MCF leh. ppl here where got stay 3 room flat.

3 Bedroom penthouse probably got quite a few lah.

you'd be better off asking your question in HWZ

hahaha

For me is 4 rm. Last time only me and wifey, 80 to 90 monthly. AC only few nights per month and hardly cook.

Now got 1 baby, Bill doubled to 190 to 210 monthly

Baby rm AC every night, cook baby food and use more water/gas.

Don't underestimate gas!

hahaha

dont like that leehhh.... i stay 3rm flat... [laugh]

My bills are always seems to be above national average every month. electricity alone cost as high as 600units monthly ! water and gas are still acceptable. we used 2 inverter aircon and 1 window casement unit everynight. instant water heater. cold water washing machine daily and a fridge, that's all.... the rest of the appliances consumption are quite negligible... I've started to monitor 24hrs usage because the bill has been climbing monthly and I really can't narrow down to what's really going on..

I heard my friend staying in 3-room, with daily aircon usage only pays like less than $100 for monthly overall bill

what's you 3-room utilities bill like?

I'm paying abt $180-$200 per month. 1 inverter and 1 water heater.

Most of the time are fans.

Water kills... having 5 members showering ... Hahahah :)

hahaha

Hahahah :)

Don't like that lah... I staying in 3-Rm flat in the east :)

Cosy regardless of the size :))