Kb27 Supersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 This morning received call from OCBC security at 2 am. Card was charged CAD2390.05 at CDW CANADA ETOBICOKE ON. Oh yeah I was sleeping at that time in SG. The best part is I have never used this card ever, and it was hacked. Either stolen by some OCBC internal staff or random number hacked. The other card I had with OCBC was fraudulently charged due to CGW database being hacked. Nowadays like very easy to hack credit card. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 This morning received call from OCBC security at 2 am. Card was charged CAD2390.05 at CDW CANADA ETOBICOKE ON. Oh yeah I was sleeping at that time in SG. The best part is I have never used this card ever, and it was hacked. Either stolen by some OCBC internal staff or random number hacked. The other card I had with OCBC was fraudulently charged due to CGW database being hacked. Nowadays like very easy to hack credit card. Wah!!! Never use card before also tio?? Cut it into 2 and send back to OCBC! Must be their fault Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 30, 2014 Author Share May 30, 2014 Wah!!! Never use card before also tio?? Cut it into 2 and send back to OCBC! Must be their fault They already cancelled the card and sending me a new one. But what gets me is that I've never used this card before. It's the CASHFLO card, which comes bundled with another card that I actually applied for. Since I don't use this CASHFLO card, I just kept it one side and then it got hacked. Anyway, just a heads-up for others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 They already cancelled the card and sending me a new one. But what gets me is that I've never used this card before. It's the CASHFLO card, which comes bundled with another card that I actually applied for. Since I don't use this CASHFLO card, I just kept it one side and then it got hacked. Anyway, just a heads-up for others. Thks bro for the heads-up! To share, my wife citi dividend card was also charged S$4k+ for purchase at dell computer several mths back which we never made. I received a sms on this and I immediately called the Citi hotline to dispute this. As I had called within mins of the sms, I expected that it would have been easily resolved but it was not true. Citi officer said they would need to confirm with Dell on this matter and as it was a Sat afternoon, couldn't do this till Mon morning. So I was fretting over the weekend but was not very happy that Citi couldn't stop the payment since I as the cardholder disputed this. I even offered to sign an undertaking that should it be proven that I had signed for this, I would be liable/responsible for the payment but to no avail. Citi did give me a temp credit back to resolve this but I didn't want a temp credit cos that was not the issue. In the end, Dell did pay back to Citi but not after several days and also after I've personally called plus e-mail to Dell to resolve the dispute. Credit cards are very convenient but when things like this happen, I wonder whether it is safe to continue using it!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 (edited) Hope there is a system whereby if the credit card companies detects a particular transaction that is at overseas, but the person is actually at singapore, the transaction will be declined and blocked the card straightaway. | With technology advancement, I don't believe they do not have the means to come out with this system. Credit card companies just need to work with ICA to get hold of the information of whether the person is at overseas or at Singapore at the point of transaction that is made. Edited May 30, 2014 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 I also recently kena. wife maybank card was charged in france when we were sleeping in sg at 2am. call the hotline to dispute immediately and the charges was reverse. the stupid pinoy on the phone still dare to say they will continue to charge the bill to me and ask me pay first. I told her to F off. and told her to get the manager call me then managed to settle it. once u paid v hard to get the money back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 This morning received call from OCBC security at 2 am. Card was charged CAD2390.05 at CDW CANADA ETOBICOKE ON. Oh yeah I was sleeping at that time in SG. The best part is I have never used this card ever, and it was hacked. Either stolen by some OCBC internal staff or random number hacked. The other card I had with OCBC was fraudulently charged due to CGW database being hacked. Nowadays like very easy to hack credit card. Sometimes, it is not bec you used your card before or not. The fraudsters may have gotten hold of a batch of legitimate card numbers illegally and used them to purchase stuff without the card being present. All they need is some absent minded cardholders not to notice or if the banks are not vigilant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Hope there is a system whereby if the credit card companies detects a particular transaction that is at overseas, but the person is actually at singapore, the transaction will be declined and blocked the card straightaway. | With technology advancement, I don't believe they do not have the means to come out with this system. Credit card companies just need to work with ICA to get hold of the information of whether the person is at overseas or at Singapore at the point of transaction that is made. Just like commercial aircrafts, modern high tech aircrafts but still using 50s tracking technology. Your idea sounds good, but doubt it'll work. ICA will tell you exit information is confidential, so cannot release to commercial entities. On a customer end, you have your passport to prove you're in town. Then again they can dispute say you can hand over your card to someone else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 (edited) You all lucky lar..... at least bank call you.... limpeh DBS card kena charged for nearly 1K and they no sound no sight till the bill come.... got a shock and it was a hassle to deal with them..... till date, they only pay me back 1/3 only..... nbzzz ccb..... I learn my lesson.... will not pay them if it happen again.... pui...... let them come chase me rather I go chase them.... fark.... btw, nowadays when go overseas, need to activate the card.... if never activate or best never use before...... how the dark the card get charged??? Something very wrong with the bank security system....... And best is Paypal...... the amount that was kena charged, 3/4 was paid through Paypal...... I contacted Paypal and question them my CC details is not even in their database..... why the fark they allowed my CC to be charged???? To my knowledge, they only charged the CC that is log in with them..... after submitting a dispute form, they email say no prove, they will not proceed with the claim..... NBPCB..... I will never deal with them ever..... WTF..... I give up talking to them, btw the phone call get routed to KL and I was charged for the IDD call.... pui..... Edited May 30, 2014 by Nlatio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 (edited) Just like commercial aircrafts, modern high tech aircrafts but still using 50s tracking technology. Your idea sounds good, but doubt it'll work. ICA will tell you exit information is confidential, so cannot release to commercial entities. On a customer end, you have your passport to prove you're in town. Then again they can dispute say you can hand over your card to someone else. But then if such occurrence are getting more and more common due to technology advancement, aren't the banks and the government want to do something about it?? Time to relax ruling a bit if it is for generally good for Singaporeans who holds credit card. Something for government and bank to think of... Edited May 30, 2014 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Hope there is a system whereby if the credit card companies detects a particular transaction that is at overseas, but the person is actually at singapore, the transaction will be declined and blocked the card straightaway. | With technology advancement, I don't believe they do not have the means to come out with this system. Credit card companies just need to work with ICA to get hold of the information of whether the person is at overseas or at Singapore at the point of transaction that is made. I tot now a days need to apply to CC to activate overseas use? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Maybe the AliExpress seller who run road with your $. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Last year I received a statement and was shocked to see Annual fee charges for a credit card that I did not applied or in personal procession. Called UOB and talked to the Card Manager and demand to know who carried the card under my name. Although it did not make any charges from the credit card, I just want to know who applied for the card and why the bank approved the card? It was later found that one of the Marketing staff did it to hit her sale targets and I demanded that the card cancel immediately. Like that also can, knn .... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 30, 2014 Author Share May 30, 2014 Last year I received a statement and was shocked to see Annual fee charges for a credit card that I did not applied or in personal procession. Called UOB and talked to the Card Manager and demand to know who carried the card under my name. Although it did not make any charges from the credit card, I just want to know who applied for the card and why the bank approved the card? It was later found that one of the Marketing staff did it to hit her sale targets and I demanded that the card cancel immediately. Like that also can, knn .... :angry: Looks like banking securities are seriously slacking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 not only slacking, but the integrity Looks like banking securities are seriously slacking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 This morning received call from OCBC security at 2 am. Card was charged CAD2390.05 at CDW CANADA ETOBICOKE ON. Oh yeah I was sleeping at that time in SG. The best part is I have never used this card ever, and it was hacked. Either stolen by some OCBC internal staff or random number hacked. The other card I had with OCBC was fraudulently charged due to CGW database being hacked. Nowadays like very easy to hack credit card. Thanks for the info, bro :) If bank never call, then transaction can just go thru' ? Now, very scared of the Tap-n-Go :( No need signature, just tap the purchases and can simply walk out with $100 worth of goods... Scared scared :( Last year I received a statement and was shocked to see Annual fee charges for a credit card that I did not applied or in personal procession. Called UOB and talked to the Card Manager and demand to know who carried the card under my name. Although it did not make any charges from the credit card, I just want to know who applied for the card and why the bank approved the card? It was later found that one of the Marketing staff did it to hit her sale targets and I demanded that the card cancel immediately. Like that also can, knn .... :angry: Can sue the bank ? Tell the bank to pay for damages due to their security lapse ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Can sue the bank ? Tell the bank to pay for damages due to their security lapse ! Never charge anythings to that card already heng ah ..... That's their departmental action and afterall they never informed of the outcome of the case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
drivinghazard 2nd Gear May 30, 2014 Share May 30, 2014 Is there a credit card that do not allow online purchases? Basically can only use the traditional retail outlets. This will reduce the risk. Then for online purchases just use debit card ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...