Mulberrypork 3rd Gear January 22, 2015 Share January 22, 2015 Congrats Kthlfc Been rather busy lately and no time to post. I have actually booked an Altis in Dec and will get it by the end of this month. There is really no many cars I prefer within my budget. Korean cars are strictly no no for me. I have been dutifully warned by relatives and friends. No point spending 10K less and spend 5 years to repent. Life should be worth more than that. Ok... finally buay loon liao Went test drive this afternoon, and finally booked this Altis :)) Congrats to myself :)) Will have to wait till end-Feb or early March to get the elegance Altis :)) ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear January 22, 2015 Share January 22, 2015 Like what the bros mentioned,DRL is not available on the lesser trim model. Checked with website and was confirmed. Hmmmm....,,,, Hmm... URL of website? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 23, 2015 Share January 23, 2015 Hmm... URL of website? Got it from the mcf ad on top,...hahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear January 23, 2015 Share January 23, 2015 Got it from the mcf ad on top,...hahaha Haha. Ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 23, 2015 Share January 23, 2015 Congrats Kthlfc Been rather busy lately and no time to post. I have actually booked an Altis in Dec and will get it by the end of this month. There is really no many cars I prefer within my budget. Korean cars are strictly no no for me. I have been dutifully warned by relatives and friends. No point spending 10K less and spend 5 years to repent. Life should be worth more than that. Bro, convenient to share the issues of their kimchi rides? Tks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stooky 6th Gear January 23, 2015 Share January 23, 2015 This morning at 11am saw white smoke coming out from the bonnet of a SKP plate Altis at Ngee Ann Poly carpark. There is a strong burning smell also. Informed the guard about it who then managed to locate the onwer of the car. Wonder what could be the problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mulberrypork 3rd Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 I think by now most Japanese and Conti car owners do not choose kimchi because 1) Bad FC. Do do trust their paperwork 2) Bad resale. 3) Bad sound proofing. My existing G10 Altis soundproof is no good, do I have to buy a worse car? 4) Bad finishing. Plastic interior start to vibrate 3 year onwards. 5) Bad gearbox. K cars are not known for their investment in R&D. Borrowed tech from last decade. 6) Bad pricing. They cost abt 5-10K diff compare to Jap cars. 7) Bad priced parts. Cheap cars don't come with cheap parts huh? 9) Bad paintwork. If you put same colour paint work with jap car you see the diff. Even a Jazz is better. 10)Bad quality. If you plan to drive more than 5 years. Be prepare to pay more for maintenance. These are things that K car forumers here don't tell you. Only friends will. Bro, convenient to share the issues of their kimchi rides? Tks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 For me, price and reliability :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 5) Bad gearbox. K cars are not known for their investment in R&D. Borrowed tech from last decade. Many patents already exist. What's your fuel consumption and RPM when at highway speeds (90-110kmph)? IIRC, dashboard RPM for 90km/h is about 1500rpm. For FC, estimated to be more than 17km/L ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mulberrypork 3rd Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 I have to admit that getting the same car but different generation, you don't really feel excited at all. Maybe I have passed the stage that I should be thrilled unless I m getting another with a quantum leap like a A8 or BMW series 5. Altis is just another car to drive around the boring Singapore. Nothing to shout about. Not a perfect car but a bread and butter for people like me who prefer to put money and time for finer things in life. Rather than sweat over small stuffs like how many ml of petrol to save or how many mm of space you have, time is better spend on getting from point A to B with style of our class. A difference in 2-8 HP is too significant. How fast you want to drive with so many speed trap??? If your K car's cheap interior look more expensive than my Altis cheap interior, so be it. A bit of detailing will do the trick. Why do you need so many airbags for here where average speed don't exceed 90 km/h? Sunroof is useless, I used to have a car with one. Overall I m no promoter of Altis, just an overall satisfied long time owner of 2 generations of toyota cars. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 I have to admit that getting the same car but different generation, you don't really feel excited at all. Maybe I have passed the stage that I should be thrilled unless I m getting another with a quantum leap like a A8 or BMW series 5. Altis is just another car to drive around the boring Singapore. Nothing to shout about. Not a perfect car but a bread and butter for people like me who prefer to put money and time for finer things in life. Rather than sweat over small stuffs like how many ml of petrol to save or how many mm of space you have, time is better spend on getting from point A to B with style of our class. A difference in 2-8 HP is too significant. How fast you want to drive with so many speed trap??? If your K car's cheap interior look more expensive than my Altis cheap interior, so be it. A bit of detailing will do the trick. Why do you need so many airbags for here where average speed don't exceed 90 km/h? Sunroof is useless, I used to have a car with one. Overall I m no promoter of Altis, just an overall satisfied long time owner of 2 generations of toyota cars. Agreed ! Singapore is just too small a place to chiong..... At most one can save per trip is abt 5-10mins... Anyway, as long as one can afford comfortably in affording a car, by all means buy a car one like... Afterall it's your car :)) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dino-Lee 4th Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 Im ah pek style, i like camry more. Of 5 cars i own along the way, i liked toyota for their reliability and low cost maintenance. But now my heart sway towards nissan qashqai. Hi bro, qashqai 2L is okay, with chio interior and good power. But the 1.2T seems under power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 I think by now most Japanese and Conti car owners do not choose kimchi because 1) Bad FC. Do do trust their paperwork - agree 2) Bad resale - not sure about this cos their asking price depre not much diff fr jap nowadays 3) Bad sound proofing. My existing G10 Altis soundproof is no good, do I have to buy a worse car? - test driven newer models seemed equivalent 4) Bad finishing. Plastic interior start to vibrate 3 year onwards. - my 7yo door panel rattles very lil but that was due to removal a few times for spkr installation n readjustments. 5) Bad gearbox. K cars are not known for their investment in R&D. Borrowed tech from last decade. - touchwood but my 7yo ride 4at still strong. 6) Bad pricing. They cost abt 5-10K diff compare to Jap cars. - agree 7) Bad priced parts. Cheap cars don't come with cheap parts huh? - my part oem very affordable, where can u get shocks for 75/PC for SUV? 9) Bad paintwork. If you put same colour paint work with jap car you see the diff. Even a Jazz is better. - Honda paint quality as bad, base coat color coat n clear coat. 10)Bad quality. If you plan to drive more than 5 years. Be prepare to pay more for maintenance. - not sure but I did replace all shocks, steering rack, a/c parts.. These are things that K car forumers here don't tell you. Only friends will. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 I think by now most Japanese and Conti car owners do not choose kimchi because 1) Bad FC. Do do trust their paperwork 2) Bad resale. 3) Bad sound proofing. My existing G10 Altis soundproof is no good, do I have to buy a worse car? 4) Bad finishing. Plastic interior start to vibrate 3 year onwards. 5) Bad gearbox. K cars are not known for their investment in R&D. Borrowed tech from last decade. 6) Bad pricing. They cost abt 5-10K diff compare to Jap cars. 7) Bad priced parts. Cheap cars don't come with cheap parts huh? 9) Bad paintwork. If you put same colour paint work with jap car you see the diff. Even a Jazz is better. 10)Bad quality. If you plan to drive more than 5 years. Be prepare to pay more for maintenance. These are things that K car forumers here don't tell you. Only friends will. Have you seen or drive Kia K3 in person?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 Have you seen or drive Kia K3 in person?? He heard them from his friends (he drives Altis) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 He heard them from his friends (he drives Altis) Lol... I know. but I still give you praise He got some of his points I agree actually, but not others Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 Lol... I know. but I still give you praise He got some of his points I agree actually, but not others 감사합니다! The Altis is a great car - the losing finalist for my car purchase - due to value and my prior experience with my previous Korean car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mulberrypork 3rd Gear January 24, 2015 Share January 24, 2015 Hmmm, seem like some people in this forum is interested in the history of mediocre cars I drive. Like what others said, this is a forum. I may be some bored teenage keyboard warrior, Toyota salesman or owned more cars than your underwear. Lol. Not need to waste time spying... get a life. He heard them from his friends (he drives Altis) You made your choice as an adult. No need to feel sore or sorry for Altis. Let's move on with our cars. 감사합니다! The Altis is a great car - the losing finalist for my car purchase - due to value and my prior experience with my previous Korean car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...