PAP MP - Zainuddin Nordin did not serve NS?

Little_prince

That is interesting.

According to his CV on the Parliament Website, he is born in Singapore and so should be a singaporean. How can he not served NS?

Being a politician, this is a matter of public interest, perhaps he should come out to clarify.

this is absolute nonsense [laugh]

During my NS time, late 1970s, Malays were not called up for NS.

You can checek if you have Malay friends whoc are in their 50s and they'll vouch for this.

Not sure how old is this MP Zainuddin though

That is interesting.

According to his CV on the Parliament Website, he is born in Singapore and so should be a singaporean. How can he not served NS?

Being a politician, this is a matter of public interest, perhaps he should come out to clarify.

medical reason??

You can checek if you have Malay friends whoc are in their 50s and they'll vouch for this.

point noted.

Malays were virtually excluded from conscription from the beginning of the draft in 1967 until 1977

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conscription_in_Singapore

http://www.parliament.gov.sg/mp/zainudin-n...inudin%20Nordin

he finish O level in 1979. by right he should serve?

this is absolute nonsense [laugh]

The stated rationale behind conscription is twofold. Firstly, because Singapore has a population of about five and a half million (as of 2012), an army solely of regulars would be too small to defend the country. Secondly, national service is supposed to support racial harmony among the Chinese, Malay and Indian communities. Malays were virtually excluded from conscription from the beginning of the draft in 1967 until 1977[3] and, after the policy was eased, were assigned mainly to serve in the police and civil defence (fire brigade), not in active combat roles.[3] In 1987, Lee Hsien Loong (then Second Minister for Defence) stated that "If there is a conflict, if the SAF is called to defend the homeland, we do not want to put any of our soldiers in a difficult position where his emotions for the nation may be in conflict with his religion"[4] and in The Roar of the Lion City (2007), military analyst Sean Walsh claimed that "official discrimination against the Malay population remains an open secret".[5] The Ministry of Defence contests the charge, noting that there are "Malay pilots, commandos and air defence personnel" and stating that "the proportion of eligible Malays selected for specialist and officer training is similar to the proportion for eligible non-Malays."[6]

i believe i have to let you know.

maybe i old liao <_<

The stated rationale behind conscription is twofold. Firstly, because Singapore has a population of about five and a half million (as of 2012), an army solely of regulars would be too small to defend the country. Secondly, national service is supposed to support racial harmony among the Chinese, Malay and Indian communities. Malays were virtually excluded from conscription from the beginning of the draft in 1967 until 1977[3] and, after the policy was eased, were assigned mainly to serve in the police and civil defence (fire brigade), not in active combat roles.[3] In 1987, Lee Hsien Loong (then Second Minister for Defence) stated that "If there is a conflict, if the SAF is called to defend the homeland, we do not want to put any of our soldiers in a difficult position where his emotions for the nation may be in conflict with his religion"[4] and in The Roar of the Lion City (2007), military analyst Sean Walsh claimed that "official discrimination against the Malay population remains an open secret".[5] The Ministry of Defence contests the charge, noting that there are "Malay pilots, commandos and air defence personnel" and stating that "the proportion of eligible Malays selected for specialist and officer training is similar to the proportion for eligible non-Malays."[6]

i believe i have to let you know.

maybe i old liao <_<

sorry lah. i too young to know mah [laugh] anyway i posted above liaoz

how come this guy tio csi?

what so special about this guy [confused][confused][confused]

cuz he posted he bo serve NS on his FB mah.

ppl see pap mp no serve ns then hoot liaoz lor [laugh]

cuz he posted he bo serve NS on his FB mah.

ppl see pap mp no serve ns then hoot liaoz lor [laugh]

then hoot liao.. more ppl realise that poster dont know singapore history anyhow post. [knife]

QUOTE (Spring @ May 13 2013, 11:32 AM) *

point noted.

Malays were virtually excluded from conscription from the beginning of the draft in 1967 until 1977

then hoot liao.. more ppl realise that poster dont know singapore history anyhow post. [knife]

eh ... read properly.

mandatory draft in place in 1977, he finished O level in 1979.

so should he serve NS or not?

Edited by Little_prince

someone who din serve NS goes on to chair the NS committee... how ironic?

That and the fact that I read in yesterday's Sunday Times that a discussion on NS (that led to some discussion on females serving NS thing ) was chaired by Janil Puthucheary. The PAP really really have no clue about ground sentiments.

TBF, sometime those ppl not involved can give a better suggestion.

? There are females MP no? Getting these ppl involved is a recipe for disaster. The PAP never learns.

QUOTE (Spring @ May 13 2013, 11:32 AM) *

point noted.

eh ... read properly.

mandatory draft in place in 1977, he finished O level in 1979.

so should he serve NS or not?

i not talking about you lah..

you post here mah..but surely you got this from somewhere else and want to clarify here nia right?? [sly]

i didnt see you hoot wor. :o

That and the fact that I read in yesterday's Sunday Times that a discussion on NS (that led to some discussion on females serving NS thing ) was chaired by Janil Puthucheary. The PAP really really have no clue about ground sentiments.

JP also another one never serve NS.

i very surprised that a newly converted citizen can be MP.

what next? an ah tiong MP??

i not talking about you lah..

you post here mah..but surely you got this from somewhere else and want to clarify here nia right?? [sly]

i didnt see you hoot wor. :o

hokay . peace . how come your SM so cui lately? no time to log in ah? [laugh]

? There are females MP no? Getting these ppl involved is a recipe for disaster. The PAP never learns.

totally dont know what you want to say.