Throttle2 Supersonic October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 (edited) well, that my opinion la... hahahaha i'm pretty sure most of the people here would agree too. but we do have etiquette not to go go into the luxury car forum and say so. bottom line is, its their money, they can buy any car they want... Likewise, it's our money and we can jolly well spend it on whatever car we like. that is within our budget as i said, wait till you can afford then you go into the forum to say so, lor... just as some people will say those buying Veloster is silly, they rather get a Picanto. the remaining money can buy electronics etc etc... Or some others will say, get a car so silly better just ride bike....etc... there is no end. therefore, i say , wait until you can really afford a $50k per year car then you see how lor... At least you didnt "slap swollen face skin act as fatty" paiseh OT. back to topic = Veloster Edited October 28, 2012 by Throttle2 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sailor 2nd Gear October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 Anyone have any comments for Cold Air Intake (CAI) ? Found in another forum that they put it in and had gained abit of horsepower. So what other Pros and Cons I should know of ? Any good and reliable workshop here I can go to ? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 Throttle is correct. It should be priced at 59k. Ill be the first to buy 59K? You mean the COE only?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 Anyone have any comments for Cold Air Intake (CAI) ? Found in another forum that they put it in and had gained abit of horsepower. So what other Pros and Cons I should know of ? Any good and reliable workshop here I can go to ? Thanks. Gain in horsepower,but torque dropped[torque is more important in S'pore Rd]. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sailor 2nd Gear October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 Thanks for replying. Alternatively, I'm thinking of adding the "Variable Speed Electric SuperCharger" and then to tune my ECU using the "Unichip Q". Apparently, other Veloster Forum and "Googling" opined that the horsepower has increased and the hesitant lag from Gear 1 to Gear 2 has improved...... However, it will be great if I can get some local opinion for those who have use these product before rather than some sales talk. Anyone ? Thanks alot...... Gain in horsepower,but torque dropped[torque is more important in S'pore Rd]. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darren4182 Neutral Newbie October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 your formula still correct. need to add in the new COE price 70k. so 59.5+70=129.5k. with current 1.5k discount then it should be the price now. We dont, but the OMV tells a lot....and it really puts people off sometimes... but the Veloster is no sports car, so live and let live lor.... 5 yrs ago without the COE going ballistic, it was very easy to tell the brand new price of the car just be knowing the OMV. The simple formula that i worked out was 3.5 X OMV = price of new car. And it was pretty accurate. eg. S40 = $36k X 3.5 = $126k 525i = $56k x3.5 = $196k 630i = $78k X 3.5 = $273k 911 C2 $134k X 3.5 = $469k agar agar correct lah.. haha nowadays the above formula doesnt work anymore. actually Veloster should be priced at $17k X 3.5 = $59.5k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 Thanks for replying. Alternatively, I'm thinking of adding the "Variable Speed Electric SuperCharger" and then to tune my ECU using the "Unichip Q". Apparently, other Veloster Forum and "Googling" opined that the horsepower has increased and the hesitant lag from Gear 1 to Gear 2 has improved...... However, it will be great if I can get some local opinion for those who have use these product before rather than some sales talk. Anyone ? Thanks alot...... For Turbocharged cars,just change to a K&N drop-in filter,buy a legal aftermarket exhausts & remapped the ECU,this is good enough,any others type of modification can cause poor running,also void your warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 Thanks for replying. Alternatively, I'm thinking of adding the "Variable Speed Electric SuperCharger" and then to tune my ECU using the "Unichip Q". Apparently, other Veloster Forum and "Googling" opined that the horsepower has increased and the hesitant lag from Gear 1 to Gear 2 has improved...... However, it will be great if I can get some local opinion for those who have use these product before rather than some sales talk. Anyone ? Thanks alot...... You are better off getting a VT. All these modifications will void your warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hairisg76 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 (edited) For Turbocharged cars,just change to a K&N drop-in filter,buy a legal aftermarket exhausts & remapped the ECU,this is good enough,any others type of modification can cause poor running,also void your warranty. Hehehe...the quest for more horsepower is neverending.. the VT has 40% more power than the N.A and still we seek more..hehehe i'd agree on the exhaust change too.( lighter, adds a tiny little more power and should sound better too andnormally corrosion resistant) Remapping still not available rite? (i may be wrong or outdated here) Drop in filter may/may not do much though may add a pony or two perhaps...but it pays for itself after a few servicing cos rewashable (so i may do this when i need to change the air filter). Call me paranoid but what i would definately do first when i get my car is to run the PCV hose(inline) into an oil catch can before routing it back into the engine. The amount of carbon/soot on the intake valves of some cars using GDI engine over time is horrifying. i dunno if anything has been addressed by hyundai regarding this matter but i sure wouldnt wanna know after 5 years later when the warranty expires and by then it would too late (especially when running a turbocharged engine at high boost). its a cheap and easily reversible mod too. Like condoms, better to have it when i dun need it rather than not having one when i do. Edited October 29, 2012 by Hairisg76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 For Turbocharged cars,just change to a K&N drop-in filter,buy a legal aftermarket exhausts & remapped the ECU,this is good enough,any others type of modification can cause poor running,also void your warranty. There is no legal aftermarket exhuast so far. But the "good" thing is that for veloster (be it VT or V) the exhaust tips are fixed so the after market exhaust cannot be readily seen compared to those Jap cars using fujisubo, J's Racing, etc which as a huge visible muffler and exhaust tip. Having said that, i'm still concerned a AM exhaust may compromise low end torque and initial pick up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hairisg76 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Yupppp...totally agree with u on that. Like on my bikes, using an aftermarket full system shows an increase of hp on the dyno. Good to have on track or when riding up north at WOT. However i would put the baffle (spark arrestor/db killer) back on when back in Singapore cos of free breathing exhaust does have adverse effect on the torque curve especially riding at low speed and stop and go traffic. And noisy too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Thanks for replying. Alternatively, I'm thinking of adding the "Variable Speed Electric SuperCharger" and then to tune my ECU using the "Unichip Q". Apparently, other Veloster Forum and "Googling" opined that the horsepower has increased and the hesitant lag from Gear 1 to Gear 2 has improved...... However, it will be great if I can get some local opinion for those who have use these product before rather than some sales talk. Anyone ? Thanks alot...... Not sure about the Supercharger but it sounds like an electric fan that forces more air thru the intake which imo a close pod with your Unichip should suffice. The Unichip doesn't tune your ECU. It piggybacks on it which intercepts the signal for the ECU and uses its parameters instead. So once you take out the Unichip everything is back to normal. Gains won't be fantastic without other mods like exhaust and intake, so within legal limits, the mods available for your ride may be too limiting to get any decent gains from Unichip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hairisg76 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Not sure about the Supercharger but it sounds like an electric fan that forces more air thru the intake which imo a close pod with your Unichip should suffice. The Unichip doesn't tune your ECU. It piggybacks on it which intercepts the signal for the ECU and uses its parameters instead. So once you take out the Unichip everything is back to normal. Gains won't be fantastic without other mods like exhaust and intake, so within legal limits, the mods available for your ride may be too limiting to get any decent gains from Unichip. I think he may be refering to this... (i just googled this out and have nothing to do with the shop, owner or product. Its link number 6 on google search when i typed variable speed supercharger) variable speed supercharger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Yupppp...totally agree with u on that. Like on my bikes, using an aftermarket full system shows an increase of hp on the dyno. Good to have on track or when riding up north at WOT. However i would put the baffle (spark arrestor/db killer) back on when back in Singapore cos of free breathing exhaust does have adverse effect on the torque curve especially riding at low speed and stop and go traffic. And noisy too. The funny thing about modding (or should i say tuning) our cars is that short while after the tuning is done, we "forget" the improvements made as these improvements becomes the new normal. So far i have done: K&N drop in, EPS Power charger & grounding, front lower brace and rear anti roll bar. In each of the above instance, immeidately after leaving the workshop i can feel the improvement. But after one or two days, the new driving feel is established as the new norm as we forgot how it used to be before these changes were done. On the other hand, everytime i turn on my modded sound system, i enjoy it. And i am concious of how good it sounds (mind you, mine is just a perhaps entry level or at most upper entry level setup). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hairisg76 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 The funny thing about modding (or should i say tuning) our cars is that short while after the tuning is done, we "forget" the improvements made as these improvements becomes the new normal. So far i have done: K&N drop in, EPS Power charger & grounding, front lower brace and rear anti roll bar. In each of the above instance, immeidately after leaving the workshop i can feel the improvement. But after one or two days, the new driving feel is established as the new norm as we forgot how it used to be before these changes were done. On the other hand, everytime i turn on my modded sound system, i enjoy it. And i am concious of how good it sounds (mind you, mine is just a perhaps entry level or at most upper entry level setup). Hahaha..yes!!! How true... For me first on the list is oil catch can. 2nd would be upgrade the speakers and add subwoofer. Ah...and perhaps a racing stripe decal from front to back to add 10hp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Increase horsepower and torque? Why not just get another better car? Original is best. I think Veloster is fine as it is. The more you soup up the more it becomes a wannabe. Just sharing alternative view Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hairisg76 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Increase horsepower and torque? Why not just get another better car? Original is best. I think Veloster is fine as it is. The more you soup up the more it becomes a wannabe. Just sharing alternative view He does have a point there. Bottom line is enjoy your rides bros. The grass always look greener on the other side. So no point comparing ur car to another. a little mod to inject a little individuality would be ok though. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...