Vulcann 6th Gear May 17, 2012 Share May 17, 2012 (edited) I beg to differ on the effectiveness of the courtesy compaign then so even introduced now again, it is not likely to achieved its intended objective of basically having social graciousness in all of us, foreigners included. As many bros has mentioned before, the population mix today is rather complex with 1 in 3 here are foreigners so some of the ungracious acts may be attributed to these folks as Singaporeans in general do not go around spitting or clipping toenails in the public. Concerning the observation on overcrowding, well enough have been said about this issue so I shall not touch on it. Having said that, it is a shame that this issue has been brought up by a foreign visitor who used to have a great impression of Singapore. So in this regard, BYK's statement of "We should take this opportunity to reflect upon ourselves" is rather approriate this time. From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_800133.html Bring back courtesy campaign, says visitor Published on May 18, 2012 I FIRST visited Singapore in 1980 and lived here for three years, during which time there was a courtesy campaign by the Government that involved all government sectors as well as private businesses. It was an effective campaign that led to the introduction of good manners and courteous service directed not only at Singaporeans, but also at foreign visitors. It was a pleasure to shop, take taxis and deal with government agencies. One was greeted in a friendly manner and service personnel actually tried to assist in any way possible. I have returned to Singapore many times since then, most recently earlier this year. The idea of good manners and courtesy is a thing of the past. I now see people spitting on the sidewalk and even on trains and buses, clipping their toenails in public, and occupying more than one seat on the train or bus even when there are people standing. Younger Singaporeans ignore the priority seating on trains and buses, and ride bicycles on the pavement without consideration for pedestrians. There is now much overcrowding and resulting garbage, as well as queue jumping, pushing and shoving that never used to occur in Singapore. Singapore relies very heavily on its tourism industry, and many of my friends and colleagues who live in or visit the country have commented about how unpleasant it has become to deal with these ill manners and lack of courtesies on a daily basis. Perhaps it is time for the Government to bring back its courtesy campaign? Peter Girling Edited May 17, 2012 by Vulcann ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 17, 2012 Share May 17, 2012 Singaporeans are not known to be really courteous to begin with, but now make worst by foreigners that are even worst than us. Just saying. I think only small percentage of foreigners, like Filipinos in service & F&B are more courtesy & friendly than us (which is the main reasons they got these jobs over others, other than better English speaking, I guess). But if we wanted to get cheap FTs, FWs from the regional developing country, than cannot expect 1st world level of characters & behavior right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 17, 2012 Share May 17, 2012 Someone ever mentioned We are gracious but will not be in his lifetime.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 All the stuff mentioned by the guy seems to be the traits of ah tiong.... heh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 18, 2012 Author Share May 18, 2012 (edited) But what he mentioned like younger folks occupying priority seats on trains or buses cannot be all attributed to foreigners but towards some of our very own native sons and daughters. Remember we even have a case of a fit local young man punching the daylights out of an elderly folk over a priority seat in a MRT train not too long ago. (Story: http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_785179.html ) What he said is true of our heavy reliance on tourism and his implication of how service standards have deteriorated over the years. So the question is can we be proud members of a gracious society ultimately? Not trying to be damper but highly unlikely in my lifetime... Edited May 18, 2012 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 You know Singaporeans is still courteous and kind and obedient. But forced to change quickly in the current climate. With the competitive edge and fierce challenges, even the gov want us to adapt and compete with these FT/PR. Betterest, fasterest, efficientest...cheaperest...... What gives? Of course we have to become more cruel, more rude, more fierce then the invading FT/PR. This is very basic psychological response of human and animals. Times has changed.....this is no longer a easy place to live. Survival is the key word on everyone mind. Good or bad outcome......the changes are already showing clearly everywhere I go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 18, 2012 Author Share May 18, 2012 Singaporeans are not known to be really courteous to begin with, but now make worst by foreigners that are even worst than us. Just saying. I think only small percentage of foreigners, like Filipinos in service & F&B are more courtesy & friendly than us (which is the main reasons they got these jobs over others, other than better English speaking, I guess). But if we wanted to get cheap FTs, FWs from the regional developing country, than cannot expect 1st world level of characters & behavior right? The thing that bugs me to no end is the keep-left or keep-right practices on escalators overseas is not being observed by most here. Ours is supposedly a keep-left system but you often see folks occupying the entire escalator step by themselves or with partners which block the right portion for overtaking by others in a rush. These selfish blokes are machiam road hoggers we see on the roads :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 18, 2012 Author Share May 18, 2012 All the stuff mentioned by the guy seems to be the traits of ah tiong.... heh Some locals are just as guilty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 Courtesy is for free, Courtesy is for you and me, ....( can't remember the rest) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 18, 2012 Author Share May 18, 2012 Courtesy is for free, Courtesy is for you and me, ....( can't remember the rest) And who can forget Singa: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 at the end of the day it goes back to the quality and happiness of our lives. if one is happy it shows on the face n subsequently the actions tat follow. but seeing where sg is on the world happiness index, its not diff to explain our behaviours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 The thing that bugs me to no end is the keep-left or keep-right practices on escalators overseas is not being observed by most here. Ours is supposedly a keep-left system but you often see folks occupying the entire escalator step by themselves or with partners which block the right portion for overtaking by others in a rush. These selfish blokes are machiam road hoggers we see on the roads :angry: Escalator-hogging:- maybe some of the aunties/uncles are still not aware of the keep-to-one-side courtesy thingy. Younger adults have no excuse not to follow such a courtesy "rule". If I am in a hurry, I will tap on his shoulder and say "Excuse", followed by gently push my way thru, not giving him a choice. I do notice some others who will just patiently stand behind the hoggers which indirectly "promote/condone" hogging. Same for users who jam up lift lobby / train platform and blocking passengers from getting out of lifts or trains by not waiting or giving way to the latter. Sometimes the only way to "wake up" these blockers is to bash thru them and stare hard into their face. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 SHIP OUT UNWANTED FOREIGN TALENT!!!!!!! - Said Singaporean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 I still remember my primary school song about the Singa courtesy.... Courtesy is for free. Sit Taxi Mai Heng Liu. The prediction of the song has come very true in Singapore recently with many smelly FT/PR not paying up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 18, 2012 Author Share May 18, 2012 Escalator-hogging:- maybe some of the aunties/uncles are still not aware of the keep-to-one-side courtesy thingy. Younger adults have no excuse not to follow such a courtesy "rule". If I am in a hurry, I will tap on his shoulder and say "Excuse", followed by gently push my way thru, not giving him a choice. I do notice some others who will just patiently stand behind the hoggers which indirectly "promote/condone" hogging. Same for users who jam up lift lobby / train platform and blocking passengers from getting out of lifts or trains by not waiting or giving way to the latter. Sometimes the only way to "wake up" these blockers is to bash thru them and stare hard into their face. Wah you champion!! Always holding door for the next person but very few would say thanks, not that I yow gui expected it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westkid 2nd Gear May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 And who can forget Singa: Ideology shifted my friend.Now is have money no need courtesy. I have money....no need courtesy ...can or not????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 18, 2012 Author Share May 18, 2012 Ideology shifted my friend.Now is have money no need courtesy. I have money....no need courtesy ...can or not????? Crude but I am afraid I have to agree with you. Last time was toa sia yia (loud voice wins) but now is wu lui yia (got money wins).. Sad progression... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevelim82 Clutched May 18, 2012 Share May 18, 2012 Lan Jiao CB, Yesterday went to a open area car park to wait for a lot to park, end up a ccb audi A1 driver drove in front and snatch my lot. Come out of the car do catwalk yaya Papaya like i owned her the lot. CCB even wealthy chic gal also no manners and KNN you think we going to practised courtesy, end up we become loser. The what HAO XING YOU HAO BAO is KNN cheat kids and mother f--kers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...