Gearbox issues; and problems at VW Service Centre

Presea

Also, I took a shortcut thru VW Alexandra on my way to pick up my new car at Tan Chong. The car park was filled to the brim with VWs & we haven't seen the multi-storey car park ... I was quite sure not all of them are there for regular services.

I was sure glad I would not be going there any time soon. 

Edited by Karu

My post earlier in the VAGSG forum:

Bid adieu to my Touran last Thurs after 6yrs... Traded in for a Jap SUV.

It was a joy driving it around but the numerous problems outweighs the driving pleasure. Changed 3 sets of clutches due to slippage, piston crack resulting in engine overhaul with 1 month downtime & 1 circuit board failure. With these visits, I got the 'privilege' of trying out VW replacement cars: Polo, Jetta, Tiguan & Passat CC. The last time I changed my clutch, I was told that they have stop offering courtesy cars.

With the recent unusual vibration (symptoms of engine fault)... I decided to let my Ex Touran go...

I'll only consider buying another VW only if it's my second car with minimum disruption due to the downtime.

Wonder why are there still people getting VW?

i will not buy vw even for second car. it won't disrupt me but will disrupt my wife schedule if she does drive it. so at best this dsg only "ok" for NA low cc car like 1.4 polo, wc one fren of mine only encountered 2 stalling engine issues wiithin 70k km therabout.

ppl will stil buy for some of these reasons - "i wont b so suay" / "SE said newer batch no issues" / "those r older makes so the bugs oredi there" / "conti for jap price, y not? have issues just dump / change car; not driving vw forever" / "buy first, talk later".

I don't think it's good Depre ard 9+K per year...Very high considering it was a 6year old.

Also, dealer need to go for a long test drive before agreeing to take in my car. He had lots of bad experience with VW cars.

He mentioned customers returned with GB issue, 'eating' engine oil, clutch issue & even power window issue( he said it was very costly to replace). I was trying to keep a straight face to avoid disclosing too much of my car history...

at least he took in ur ride despite having encountered issues previously. if i'm in this biz, i'd probably avoid dealing w vw cars, n perhaps most conti ones.

i will not buy vw even for second car. it won't disrupt me but will disrupt my wife schedule if she does drive it. so at best this dsg only "ok" for NA low cc car like 1.4 polo, wc one fren of mine only encountered 2 stalling engine issues wiithin 70k km therabout.

ppl will stil buy for some of these reasons - "i wont b so suay" / "SE said newer batch no issues" / "those r older makes so the bugs oredi there" / "conti for jap price, y not? have issues just dump / change car; not driving vw forever" / "buy first, talk later".

I'm sure one car is still better than non if the vw breaks down. My family can't afford 2.. So I experienced the pain of needing to look for a cab or take train with young kids when the Touran was in the workshop.

Yes. Those were the reasons I used to justify buying the VW 6 years ago when VW was deemed not so problematic. I guess there'll still be such buyers. The notion of owning a conti is overated. Unless you are looking at the luxury marques.

Well, you can call me sour grapes but I've been there & done that.

Edited by Karu

at least he took in ur ride despite having encountered issues previously. if i'm in this biz, i'd probably avoid dealing w vw cars, n perhaps most conti ones.

Think they had some contract or deals with the ADs & can see that they are trying their luck to sell off my car at >10K profit... Good luck to the next owner... 

My post earlier in the VAGSG forum:

Bid adieu to my Touran last Thurs after 6yrs... Traded in for a Jap SUV.

It was a joy driving it around but the numerous problems outweighs the driving pleasure. Changed 3 sets of clutches due to slippage, piston crack resulting in engine overhaul with 1 month downtime & 1 circuit board failure. With these visits, I got the 'privilege' of trying out VW replacement cars: Polo, Jetta, Tiguan & Passat CC. The last time I changed my clutch, I was told that they have stop offering courtesy cars.

With the recent unusual vibration (symptoms of engine fault)... I decided to let my Ex Touran go...

I'll only consider buying another VW only if it's my second car with minimum disruption due to the downtime.

Wonder why are there still people getting VW?

Haha , you wonder why people still getting VW , I wonder why there are people willing to pay 140k for the new Touran .

I'm sure one car is still better than non if the vw breaks down. My family can't afford 2.. So I experienced the pain of needing to look for a cab or take train with young kids when the Touran was in the workshop.

Yes. Those were the reasons I used to justify buying the VW 6 years ago when VW was deemed not so problematic. I guess there'll still be such buyers. The notion of owning a conti is overated. Unless you are looking at the luxury marques.

i know one guy who owned a touran and upgraded to a new sharan when it went for a massive discount

Ok . Related although not VW .

Colleague's Audi A3 only 7 months old but needing clutch replacement .

Haha that one also problematic. It's using the problematic infamous dry clutch 7 speeder DSG.. shared by Golf, Jetta, Touran, Scirocco, Passat & the CC.

The piston crack one is a joke. Usually in the twincharged setups in Golf Sports, Scirocco and Jetta Sports. People in VAGSG experienced this on their cars as early as 60KM mileage. If warranty is over, prepare to pay $12K-15K. Even if you do it outside, it still cost a lot.

Haha that one also problematic. It's using the problematic infamous dry clutch 7 speeder DSG.. shared by Golf, Jetta, Touran, Scirocco, Passat & the CC.

The piston crack one is a joke. Usually in the twincharged setups in Golf Sports, Scirocco and Jetta Sports. People in VAGSG experienced this on their cars as early as 60KM mileage. If warranty is over, prepare to pay $12K-15K. Even if you do it outside, it still cost a lot.

That's the reason why I got rid of my Touran. It was stuck in VW for 1month due to piston crack.

Engine starting to feel weird even after overhaul in 2012.

Ok . Related although not VW .

Colleague's Audi A3 only 7 months old but needing clutch replacement .

Why not VW?

Audi owned by VW leh.

Was at a workshop recently to service my car. Happened to see one A4 waiting for replacement parts due MU failure. Seems like MU thingy is also affecting Audi cars even tho they try to use different name for their GB (not DSG).

i'm ok with not been there n done that; dun wanna encounter inconvenience when i needed my car most. i have a fren who owned a jetta tht broke down on weekend, spoiling the programs lined up.. luxury marques i believe oso have a lil issues, short of those owners that actually have time to post here. they're probably bizmen who have better things to do than to post issues here.

am I correct to have read that the vw cars on the 7 speed dry clutch are the problematic ones and those on the 6 speed wet clutch (eg the Sharan) are all pretty reliable?

i know one guy who owned a touran and upgraded to a new sharan when it went for a massive discount

Why not VW?

Audi owned by VW leh.

And that's why I said related (as Audi is owned by VW and as Audi2016 pointed out the 7 dsg is a common platform across a number of cars). Needs 4 days to fix but he is ok with it as he will be overseas. Wah, wonder what happens 7 months later after the fix (mind you his car is already a 2015 model and this is years since this problem first surfaced with this 7 dsg ) Edited by EricChan

am I correct to have read that the vw cars on the 7 speed dry clutch are the problematic ones and those on the 6 speed wet clutch (eg the Sharan) are all pretty reliable?

Most common complaint among sharan owners is the fc

That's about it.

That's the reason why I got rid of my Touran. It was stuck in VW for 1month due to piston crack.

Engine starting to feel weird even after overhaul in 2012.

Piston crack during warranty? Did you fork out $ for the repair or borne by VCS?

Was at a workshop recently to service my car. Happened to see one A4 waiting for replacement parts due MU failure. Seems like MU thingy is also affecting Audi cars even tho they try to use different name for their GB (not DSG).

The most common GB problem is the dry 7 speeder DSG. That one guaranteed to have issue, only question is when it will come.

As for other gearboxes within VW Audi family, they are much better in terms of reliability but that doesn't mean problem free. Just a lot lesser. They have wet clutch so the MU uplorry less often than the dry clutch ones. The wet clutch ones are usually used for mid to high end cars within the VW Audi group. Also, they have several wet clutch gearboxes too.

The predecessor A4 is equipped with CVT. Not very problematic one, I heard.

spanner usuallu MU....hope all works out for you.

So just an update, as expected VW has confirmed it is MU failure. Have to wait a day or two for replacement. Happening ar 52k only, seems rather early...