OPC e-day license

Redplanet

i suggest for ppl who r forgetful, set a note with alarm on yr mobile every time b4 u drive your car.

I understand ppl can be damn forgetful, my wife is one of them.... and its incredible how absentminded some ppl can get. its like x-file for my wife!

I agree, I always set alarm before I drive my car away. But last friday, I put the reminder into my fone but forgot to set alarm.....sigh. SO now have to pay the price. I guess in such cases there is no body to blame, the system is in place, there are several ways to buy the licence. Drivers should just change their habit and buy before they drive off, just like the old days when you have to tear a couplon before you move off.

For those who say one should not forget, i am happy for them as they are the fortunate few who never forget anything, good for them, although I feel "should" and "forget" should never be used together.

I just hope the price is not too steep for me..... [:(]

If always forget the best thing is drive a normal car, then you will NEVER have to worry you forget cos of some emegency. Afterall this is the nature of OPC, you sign on the dotted then u need to keep up your end of the bargain? Now if the LTA need to listen to whose pet died as excuse there will be 1 million excuse I can think of, stomach pain, feel giddy, vomitting, took wrong medication, split personality, Dementia? [laugh] ..So no point be angry cos u forgot, mensrual cramps or gastric etc...Just pay & dont forgot again or better still drive normal car lor?

using an average senior engineer as an example working in a company that does not provide free parking

8am to 6pm daily, eats near his company and lives 40 mins from where he works

has 12 days leave per year and uses the days for holiday

in 10 years he will remain in the same job so he won't use his car from 7am - 7pm daily

he decides to buy OPC to save

17k + interest at 2% = 20.4k

road tax savings of $700 per year for 10 years = 7k

(if i'm not wrong for old opc scheme its $800 savings per year actually)

total savings is 27.4k

in your honest opinion, is it worth to pay nearly 30k to NEVER worry about forgetting to buy an OPC coupon for just ONE day?

and by the way i said i can think of many reasons to forget to go to an axs machine to buy an OPC coupon but never did i say any 1 of my reasons is an excuse not to buy

Edited by Expertz

Yeah I agree with you that its good savings but comes with hidden obligations? The obligations to buy the coupon when u drive peak period. If cannot remember type, best to drive normal. Now if have OPC, kena fine cos forgot, stomach pain, dementia, split personality or partner have affair...So if all this excuses r valid then how? Everybody drive OPC har? [laugh]

This is going to sound paranoid, but I'm pretty sure there's going to be some leeway, say 7 am +/- 5 to 10 minutes right? It's not as if everyone's time will be in sync with whatever time LTA uses... I'm just asking this as I realised that if you want to avoid paying overnight parking at EPS-equipped car parks, you can only enter through the barrier past 7 am if that's their timing and the concept of grace time is non-existent to that particular car park...

Was anyone so suay to get spotted within, say, 5 minutes after "7 am"?

This is going to sound paranoid, but I'm pretty sure there's going to be some leeway, say 7 am +/- 5 to 10 minutes right? It's not as if everyone's time will be in sync with whatever time LTA uses... I'm just asking this as I realised that if you want to avoid paying overnight parking at EPS-equipped car parks, you can only enter through the barrier past 7 am if that's their timing and the concept of grace time is non-existent to that particular car park...

Was anyone so suay to get spotted within, say, 5 minutes after "7 am"?

I can tell you for sure, during the tear coupon days, I was stopped near Lot One shopping centre at 6.55 pm by an LTA officer, I had the coupon though, so dont gamble this 5 minuts

Saying is always easy....sometimes we've too many things loaded in our mind...I've been paying for my day license promptly everytime, only to miss out this time round, it's very unfair for a $500 fine even for a 1st timer. Everyone makes mistakes, even animals.

Correct.

And for every mistake, there's a price to it lor ... In your case, $500

Come on people, if we forget to put a parking coupon, we get a fine. Try to appeal if you think you have a case, pay and wise up if you don't. Simple as that ... same applies for OPC

And with so many means to pay for e-license (and think about it, online is also so easily accessible, with the so many smartphones and data plans) , "forget" is a just simply a very weak excuse and poor mask of "I wanna try siam paying $20"

Folks,

The requirements of the OPC scheme is available to all who wants to know. The limitations and restrictions are no hidden secret either. OPC owners need to take ownership of the choice they made in entering into this scheme and stop complaing "LTA should SMS me''" or " The should be more understanding to 1st timers ..." ... etc...

Pls lah .. grown up liow, got license, drive car ... then jolly well take responsibility for yourself and your own actions (and mistakes).

Correct.

And for every mistake, there's a price to it lor ... In your case, $500

Come on people, if we forget to put a parking coupon, we get a fine. Try to appeal if you think you have a case, pay and wise up if you don't. Simple as that ... same applies for OPC

And with so many means to pay for e-license (and think about it, online is also so easily accessible, with the so many smartphones and data plans) , "forget" is a just simply a very weak excuse and poor mask of "I wanna try siam paying $20"

But why would people own up when they are trying to cheat the system, ? when parking fine is raised to a possible of 5k, then probab;y there will be threads asking "how ah? I had a meeting and it went on for a while longer then expected and i forgot to tear more coupon".

Bingo!

I totally agree man...sometimes there are really urgent situation

But there are also some who jus do it on purpose....is hard to judge.

There is no way to resolve this problem...ppl jus have to be more careful then. If gahmen baby feed, then wat they earn, and there will be no money for gahmen to fraud [laugh]

LTA should just tattoo BIG BIG on the forearm of first time offenders "Next time, don't 4get to buy the farking opc coupon".

I drive opc myself and I hated the previous coupon system. The current system gives you so much time and 24/7 accessibility when it comes to purchasing the e-coupon.

All the BS about forgetting to tear and post office not open after office hours shd be a thing of the past.

Edited by Sabian

LTA should just tattoo BIG BIG on the forearm of first time offenders "Next time, don't 4get to buy the farking opc coupon".

I drive opc myself and I hated the previous coupon system. The current system gives you so much time and 24/7 accessibility when it comes to purchasing the e-coupon.

All the BS about forgetting to tear and post office not open after office hours shd be a thing of the past.

why you hate the coupon system? cos need to pay upfront as only post office sell them? or simply hate the sight of a big coupon on your windscreen...

Because only PO sells them. The plate is already red, so what is one more big coupon? I knew what I signed up for when I opted for opc.

fair enough... i agree it not easy available as only PO carrys. that's why i stockpile 5 at a go and feel the heart ache. either way, there is pro n con and we are entitle to our preference. :D

yes, i stockpiled during the coupon system too. but now, i am a lot happier with when they implemented the mobilep@y system.