Girl_powerful Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Hi I receive this email from a friend. I'm wondering, why dropping passenger off at bus stop illegal? I drop my brother off daily... LTA- Get fine S$130 for Alighting Passengers at bus stop To: Subject: Fw: LTA- Get fine S$130 for Alighting LTA has contracted six traffic wardens from a private company at $34,000 a year to take down the licence platenumber, make and colour of vehicles that intrude into bus lanes at peak hours. (They are incognito with camera in hands......so don't expect to see a TP, etc). Note you can get fined $130 for dropping someone off at or near the bus stop. LTA has intensified their operations at the following 1) Eunos Link 2) Hougang Ave 3 3) Jurong Town Hall Rd 4) Lorong Chuan 5) Orchard Rd 6) Upper Serangoon Rd 7) Upper Thomson Rd 8) Yishun Ave 2 Additional spots where speed traps were seen: 1) PIE towards airport near Toa Payoh exit, tripod mounted speed camera at the pedestrain overhead bridge. 90km/h 2) PIE towards jurong near adam r! oad exit, tripod mounted speed cam era over at Adam Road flyover. 90km/h 3) Braddell Road after Bishan Junction towards CTE, tripod mounted speed camera at the pedestrain overhead bridge. 60/kmh 4) Queensway towards Bukit Merah, tripod mounted speed camera under tree before Ridout McDonalds. 60km/h 5) Spot along Upper Bukit Timah Rd towards Woodlands Rd , tripod mounted speed camera under tree after a curve turn - 60km/h. Fine imposed is! $170 and 8 demerit points. So serious!? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Please revisit Basic Theory. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linlaupeh Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Bus Stop is only for Bus to stop. Which part of the English do you not undertand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanley789 Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 I dun see why we cannot stop at Bus Stop to alight someone. Usually, I will check out whether there are any approaching bus from behind. If there is, I will drive on. If not i will let my passenger alight at Bus Stop. This is safer than stop at main road. We will be posing a potential hazard to other road users who might not be able to brake on time from behind. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Don't play play.... I stay in eunos and I personally seen these wardens in action.... Some more quite sneaky type.... they don't wait at the bus stop and stay quite a distant away to stake out and observe the offenders. But the fella yesterday was quite steady, at least he stand along the main road on the same stretch as the bus stop. Those earlier wardens I saw were very "tactical"... U kena summon also won't know one... But maybe people complain so they stop hiding (this is just my speculation).. One thing for sure is that they don't stake out everyday one because i don't see them there everyday, at least not when I am leaving for work... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Raining Day dropping passenger at Bus Stop also Kanna FINE Beware 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 from what i know from insider info, LTA got buay tahan from all the complaints not with the vehicles that alight and drive off promptly but with the idiots who idle in busstop and block bus. Even when bus horned them they also boh chup. A couple of such complaints during peak hours was all it took for LTA to slap a draconian measures and make the rest of the motoring community suffer for the selfishness of a few idiots, 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 So if we want to drop someone off at the MRT station, there's only taxi stand and bus stop. Taxi stand is full, bus stop cannot drop people, then drop by the road side and cause a traffic jam lor. Then people go and complain about traffic jam, what next LTA?? This can be seen everyday during peak hours in the morning and evening at Tanah Merah and Bedok MRT stations. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 anyway i really buay tahan LTA "i am always right" attitude... Wont ppl make mistakes? If old man also can make mistake then who the hell do they think they are? God? Last time ppl make remark that hey stupid, you designed the braddell road exit to be too close to the AMK entrance already they bla bla bla no lah, here the stats bla bla... Everytime sure got some fark excuse to cover their smelly backside and justify using some hen and monkey reasoning. Is it very hard to just say... "We thank you for your constructive comments and we will make it a point to look into it" I dont care whether it's just lip service or not. Just from this tai chi attitude you can have an idea of how top down these kukus are... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 (edited) LTA will tell u cannot drop passenger off along road or bus stop.. period! U will need to drop off passenger at designated drop off point or find a carpark. Edited July 25, 2008 by Tkseah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 the point here is quite controversial.. whether it is an offence to intrude into the bus lanes during operation hrs to stop at a bus stop to alight or pick up passengers OR it is an offence to stop/wait at a bus stop at all times? I believe it is the former which means that cars are not allow to go into the bus lanes during operational hrs to pick up or alight passengers... but it should be ok to do that once the bus lanes not in operation. MHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverycivic Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Operation or not, still cannot stop at bus-stop. It is at their mercy to issue the love letter for those who do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 That's d rule. I don't make it. Go & complaint 2 ur MP. Only ur MP can change d rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 I dun see why we cannot stop at Bus Stop to alight someone.Usually, I will check out whether there are any approaching bus from behind. If there is, I will drive on. If not i will let my passenger alight at Bus Stop. This is safer than stop at main road. We will be posing a potential hazard to other road users who might not be able to brake on time from behind. not really about "can or cannot" but rules and regulation..... just like saying "i dun see why we cannot buy chewing gum and bring it back to sg"... ....do what u want to do just dont get caught.that's all.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Whats so big deal abt fine and demerit points?? KO time, try going to town area and see for yrself. So many drivers on their hazard lights waiting at bus stops for wife or gfs.. Some just park there, block others and jam the entire road. Who is scared of fine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Well, u could go & complain to TP/LTA. When these ppl received summon, they login MCF/HWZ/whatever forum & KPKB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waynescence Neutral Newbie July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 (edited) guys, pls dun challenge the system. even if u delay a bus by 1-10 second, if every bus stop all delay 1-10 second EACH bus stop, add it all up, tats multiple minutes down many passengers' drain. think of the bigger picture. imagine ur relative on that bus kena accident jsut becos of such delay or such parking, how would u feel? if u are in the saf, think of the core value - care for soldiers. so in road sense, a vehicle should care for another vehicle, which makes sense yet again. thought i admit LTA/TP do make mistakes (but how often is theirs against ours, right?), so if u think u are right, do stand out among the others, do what u should do and do it right by proving urself. seriously its not all about $$$ LTA wants, its the care thinking among road users tat counts, so if 99% does not delay any vehicle on public service, then everythin will be 99% correct/right. Edited July 25, 2008 by Waynescence Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 25, 2008 Share July 25, 2008 Bus delay will get into accident? Why not claim that I delay the bus, they get to work late and escape from an accident because there's an earthquake that made their office building collapse? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...